Glee Finale – Season Two – “New York”

(SPOILERS LIKE WHOA)

So, that was not the best episode of Glee. Not by far. In fact, for a bulk of the episode, I was thinking to myself that it needed to get better and it needed some Klaine.

Luckily, I was a winner on both fronts.

The episode started in NYC, with Rachel Berry saying “I made it” pretty much right into camera.

That was definitely me the first time I was in Times Square 5 years ago. You couldn’t smack the smile off my face. So, I got what Rachel was feeling.

But then the episode was just kinda meh until probably the last 5 minutes (except for a couple choice bits throughout).

Why did the Glee kids only have 2 rooms? Why were there no parent chaperones besides Mr. Schue? How did they get to NYC without having both of their Nationals songs locked and ready to perform?

These were the questions that were whizzing through my mind as I watched the first 1/3 of the show.

I thought the “I Love New York / New York, New York” mashup was all right. It was nice to see the Glee kids around the city. I was not a big fan of Schue’s solo on the stage – Matthew Morrison’s owe song “Still Got Tonight.” (I predict that his album is not going to be super popular… unfortunately for him. I like Morrison all right, but I’m not digging his solo stuff, from the few songs I have heard.)

This episode was Finchel-heavy, which I was kinda for. I think Finn and Rachel shouldn’t work, but they totally do because they challenge each other to the point where Rachel finally figured out that she would pick a career over love, and Finn would still pick Rachel even though she’s difficult. I thought the Finchel date was cute (though “Bella Notte” was a bit much…), but at a few points throughout I was convinced it was going to turn out to be a dream sequence. But it’s cool Rachel met Patti LuPone, even though the show set her up to be Kurt’s idol and NOT Rachel Berry’s… (btgw – Quinn is still bitter about him dumping her for Rachel. Quinn had a bit of a melt down and griped about how her former beau’s have all found someone else… and asked why no one loves her. Because you’re kinda a stuck up bi-yotch, Quinn. That’s why. Love yourself first, girly. Love yourself first.)

Besides the Finchel (which I will expand on in a bit), I was digging the Kurt-Rachel friendship. As much as I was not a fan of the episode, J’ADORED their duet of “For Good” on the Wicked stage. I can only imagine that was a mind-blowing experience for both of the actors, as well as their characters. Singing a Wicked song on the Wicked stage is any theater-geeks dream. And that song, God that song. It’s just the perfect song about friendship/people you’ve come in contact with over your life. I totally buy into the lyrics of that song (I bolded my favorite lines for emphasis):

(Elphaba):
Im limited
Just look at me – Im limited
And just look at you
You can do all I couldn’t do, Glinda
So now it’s up to you
For both of us – now it’s up to you…

(Glinda):
I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…

Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you
I have been changed for good

(Elphaba):
It well may be
That we will never meet again
In this lifetime
So let me say before we part
So much of me
Is made of what I learned from you
You’ll be with me
Like a handprint on my heart
And now whatever way our stories end
I know you have re-written mine
By being my friend…

Like a ship blown from its mooring
By a wind off the sea
Like a seed dropped by a skybird
In a distant wood
Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better?
But because I knew you

(Glinda):
Because I knew you

(Both):
I have been changed for good

(Elphaba):
And just to clear the air
I ask forgiveness
For the things I’ve done you blame me for

(Glinda):
But then, I guess we know
There’s blame to share

(Both):
And none of it seems to matter anymore

(Glinda):
Like a comet pulled from orbit
As it passes a sun
Like a stream that meets a boulder
Halfway through the wood

(Elphaba):
Like a ship blown from its mooring
By a wind off the sea
Like a seed dropped by a bird in the wood

(Both):
Who can say if I’ve been
Changed for the better?
I do believe I have been
Changed for the better

(Glinda):
And because I knew you…

(Elphaba):
Because I knew you…

(Both):
Because I knew you…
I have been changed for good…

***

Breaks your heart, don’t it?

So, that is definitely one of my favorite Glee music moments ever, even if the episode on a whole did not impress me.

The Glee kids found out via the Vocal Adrenaline coach that Schue was going to leave them for Broadway, but Schue decided his show choir kids are his dream job, so he’s sticking with them. Aw. How nice.

At Nationals, some all girl choir sang Usher’s “Yeah“. It was weird. Their dresses did not really go with their song choice. It was a bit off-putting, though that song is my jam.

Rachel ran into Sunshine Corazon in the bathroom, who was throwing up from nerves. Rachel gave her a very un-Rachel pep talk and then cheered her on during her performance of “As Long As You’re There“. Vocal Adrenaline’s dresses were heinous.

Then, it was time for New Directions. Finn wrote the duet, “Pretending” that he and Rachel sang. (Jesse St. James sat next to Schue, saying he couldn’t stay away… Schue asked from show choir, or from her [Rachel]? The silent answer was Rachel, obviously, as Jesse was pretty pissed when during the end of the duet, Finn and Rachel kissed. Like they were the only two people in the room… which they were, because the camera circled around them, and there wasn’t anyone else there for them, even though the whole crowd watched in silence. And no one clapped. PDA obviously doesn’t earn your points in show choir competitions.

However, the crowd was on their feet with the New Directions group song, “Light Up the World.” It was peppy and up-tempo much like “Loser Like Me.” I dug it. I’ll be singing that in the car on my drive back to MN in a few days.

However, Finn and Rachel’s make-out session ended up hurting their chances at winning Nationals… they didn’t even place in the Top 10 teams to advance to the next round of competition.

But, all is not lost.

Back in Ohio at the Lima Bean, Kurt is relaying to Blaine the excitement of his trip. Blaine just stares at Kurt with heart eyes while Kurt talks. And then THIS HAPPENED. And I was like AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW.

I LOVE that Blaine was the first one to say “I love you.” And I love how it was so nonchalant.

And I’m *thinking* that this means Blaine will be sticking around for the long haul (those writers cannot break Kurt and Blaine up any time soon… the people would revolt). So, hopefully that means Darren Criss will become a series regular, because that kid needs to be on my television all of next season. Like whoa.

Also – Samcedes happened! How cute are they? This relationship may be a tad far-fetched (I mean, they were cute at prom, but I don’t see them lasting forever like Klaine), but Mercedes deserves to be happy.

And Brittany and Santana are still BFFs. Though Santana needs a girlfriend girlfriend at some point, I’m assuming.

And that’s what you missed on Glee.

Summary – Episode was Meh, but Klaine love is canon. 🙂

(END SPOILERS)

