Oh my, what a day, what a day. I am completely worn out between last night’s Glee Live and then spending the whole of today at Valleyfair, an amusement park in Shakopee, MN.

So, last night’s Glee Live was pretty awesome. I posted some pictures on yesterday’s post, so you should check those out, if you want 🙂

We had pretty sweet seats – second row on the balcony, right in the center. LXD was the opening act, and they were amazing… but I didn’t get any good pictures of them.

I really didn’t get (m)any good pictures the whole night, which sucked. I ended up spending most of the actual concert watching the show through the 2″ screen on the back of my camera instead of actually watching the Glee kids perform. So, I’ll have to youtube (or tumblr) some of the songs from the show last night. Especially the Warblers stuff… I really was having a hard time with my camera by that point, and I wasn’t quite 100% able to focus on the Dalton boys singing and dancing. What I did see, though, was AMAZING.

The whole show was pretty great. My biggest complaint was that Lea Michele didn’t perform “Don’t Rain on My Parade.” That is one of my favorite Glee numbers of all time, and she sang it at the previous concerts this summer. But, some of the cast is sick (if you follow them on Twitter, you probably knew this), so it’s understandable if they can’t quite keep up with everything all the time. This summer tour has got to be grueling for them – pretty much a different city every day or so. Today, if you follow any of their Tweets, you’ll know they were in Minneapolis until late last night, then the main cast (minus Darren) flew to Indianapolis while the Warblers (plus Darren, it seems… and one would assume this was his choice so he could spend more time with his Warblers friends?) took a bus down I-39 S (which I totally just did this drive about a week or so ago en route to Athens, OH) to the venue in Indy. And, I just saw on Twitter that tonight’s Indy show is over and they’re headed to Chicago. Busy, busy, busy.

I was worn out just watching their production last night – I can’t imagine doing that almost night after night for a month or so. Props to them, because the show was awesome. High energy. Very entertaining. Some numbers were a bit pitchy here and there, but that’s too be expected… it’s not like they sing live on the show each week. So, the fact that most of them sing live on the tour is pretty great.

I had a patchy night’s sleep last night, and then dragged myself out of bed earlyish b/c my brother and I had plans to go to Valleyfair, an amusement park in MN.

We did go – and it was a lot of fun, but it totally wore us both out. We both agreed that we’re getting too old to be galavanting around an amusement park… especially when we were surrounded by school kids the whole day.

It actually wasn’t too bad, though. The longest we had to wait for a ride was 30 minutes, and that was for the first thing we went on. Everything else we only had to wait 2-15 minutes, which wasn’t horrible at all. And really, the only reason we had to wait any more than 10 minutes for a few rides was because we always wanted to sit in the front row of the roller coasters. Which we did on all but one… and for that one, we rode in the very back.

We went on 6 different roller coasters, but one of them we rode twice. Then we went on this giant swing-esque thing. And then I rode the Rip Tide by myself b/c my brother was worn out and didn’t want to go on it. But, since I like crazy rides that make you go upside down a bunch of times, I wanted to ride it. So I did. 🙂

It was really great hanging out with my brother the whole day. We get along really well when it’s just the two of us (we have an older sister… so when it’s the 3 of us, it usually gets to be 2 against 1… but when it’s only any 2 of us at a given time, then we get along like BFFs). He and I are more similar than one might think, though we haven’t always been like this. But, it was really great being able to talk some stuff out with him and realize that we aren’t the only ones who think what we think. He’s a good brother, and I’m super thankful for him. It’s been great being able to spend time with him this past week. He’s visiting until Monday, and then he’ll be working for the summer in another state, so then I won’t see him again until the end of July. But, we’ve had a lot of fun in the past week, and we have a few more days of shenanigans left.

This evening we just kind of chilled in the house since everyone was so worn out. We finished watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I – we were watching it with the bits of extras/commentary on the Blu-ray. Very interesting indeed. Then, it was time for a Glee re-run… “Silly Love Songs”

Now, I made an epic post about this episode when it first aired.

I have seen it many times since (thank you, iTunes), but my mom had never seen it before. So, I forced her to watch it, especially because several songs from this episode were performed at the concert last night, and I wanted her to have some context.

But, since this is one of my favorite episodes of the show thus far, I was more than happy to watch it again, especially with my mom because I get a kick out of her commentary.

Toward the beginning of the episode, when Blaine and Kurt are in the coffee shop and Blaine is telling Kurt that he has feelings for someone and wants to sing him a song on Valentine’s Day, my mom turned to me and said, “Is he talking about Kurt?” I smiled and said “no” and she was like, “What?! Who is he going to sing to?” I said, “The Gap Guy.” She said, “I don’t know who that is.” I told her to just keep watching… 🙂

We finished the episode and my mom liked “Silly Love Songs” a lot, especially the “Silly Love Songs” performance that closed the episode. She actually laughed out loud at Blaine’s facial expressions while he was singing to Santana about “sometimes it [love] doesn’t come at all”.

I could watch this episode over and over again (well, minus the Finn and Quinn stuff… they piss me off so much in this episode. All that cheating – bah). But, I LOVE all of the Puck and Lauren stuff. But mostly, I love all the Blaine and Kurt stuff (of course).

“When I Get You Alone” is still one of my favorite numbers from the season.

That song is just entirely inappropriate for a high school kid to be singing to a slightly older crush. *That’s* what makes it such a brilliant song choice… because this is a huge moment for the Kurt/Blaine relationship. I know I talked about this in my “Silly Love Songs” post, but this is the episode where Kurt really takes Blaine off of that pedestal and the two are really equals in their relationship (which at this point is still just friendship).

This is the episode where Kurt (and the audience) sees that Blaine isn’t perfect. Blaine has flaws. Blaine doesn’t know everything. He even confesses to Kurt, “I don’t know what I’m doing.” That second coffee shop scene is one of my most favorite scenes in the entire show thus far because it’s such a big moment for Kurt (who is still my favorite character… though Burt Hummel and Blaine Anderson are creeping in on this top spot, so much so that it might be a three-way tie depending on how Season 3 goes). I can’t find the clip on youtube, but trust me, it’s a great scene.

Damn, I just love this show 🙂

And I love it even more now that I got to see the cast perform.

Well, I should get to bed. I am waaaaaaay tired. And I don’t know what’s in store for tomorrow, but I’m sure a full night’s sleep can’t hurt.

Have a good one

