… just because I have absolutely no clue about what kind of job I want to be applying for 😦

I’m almost 100% done with graduate school. “Graduation” is next weekend (I shan’t be attending, but it will offer some finality to the whole process) and now I need to be focusing on applying for jobs, moving out of my parents house and getting on with my life/future.

But, to be perfectly honest, I have no idea about what I want to be when I grow up. And at 27, I know I am a “grown up,” but that doesn’t change the fact that I am completely lost when it comes to what I want to be doing for the rest of my life. I do know that I need to be working with/on/around entertainment media such as film, television or theater. But that’s as far as I got in my life-plan thus far.

If you have any suggestions, I would totally be open to them 🙂

I slept in really late today – until 10. That usually only happens when I’m sick. But, I think my exhaustion finally caught up with me… plus, I spent the whole day outside yesterday and was a bit dehydrated, and that usually wipes me out. Which it totally did.

Almost right after I woke up, my mom took my brother to the doctor and I was by myself. So, I did what any normal person would do – I showered while singing really loudly to Lady Gaga music since no one was home, and then I started rewatching Starship (since now I have it on DVD). I got through most of Act One before my mom and brother returned, but then I had to turn it off.

I love Starship. I love StarKid. And, since I saw most of them live on the DigiTour past month, I extra appreciate their productions.

I just realized I never really posted any pictures from the DigiTour… well, here’s a few:

So, yeah… it was totally awesome getting to see Joey Richter, Dylan Saunders, Brian Holden, Lauren Lopez, Joe Walker, Jamie Lynn Beatty, A.J. Holmes, and Meredith Stepien live and in person. I had super awkward encounters with two of the aforementioned people, but who they are is neither here nor there. I just know that it was epically awkward and makes for a great story. However, I will not be sharing that here on the Interwebs… sorry 😉

Besides watching Starship today, I kinda watched the original Italian Job, but I fell asleep during most of it. I also kinda helped my dad fix the lawn mower (he did all the work, but I had a really good suggestion, and it totally worked, so the mower got fixed long enough for my mom to mow the lawn… and then the mower died. But that wasn’t my fault.). I also went w/my dad to pick up some Chinese food… we were going to go get some Philly food to celebrate me being done with my thesis and whatnot, but we’re going to wait for tomorrow. So, Chinese food was the best alternative. It was a pre-celebration celebration, if you will.

During dinner, we watched The Backup Plan – that J-Lo movie w/the hot guy from Hawaii Five-O. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. It was a bit frustrating at times (both J-Lo and Hawaii Five-O dude’s characters were a bit stubborn and irrational), but we laughed and all in all it was an all right watch. I appreciated that it wasn’t something I really had to think during. As much as I like to be intellectually stimulated by what I’m watching, I was not in the mood for that tonight. Ergo, this was perfect to watch.

Well, I need to sleep… I have work tomorrow morning (boooooooo) and I’m still feeling a bit off coming down off of the thesis-stress and whatnot. It’s really weird not having the entire weight of academia hanging on my shoulders these past few days. While driving to pick up dinner, my dad and I were marveling at how I actually got my thesis defended and I am done now. A month ago, I would have bet money that everything was just going to fall apart and I was going to be stuck waiting until Fall Quarter to get everything done.

But, somehow it worked. Somehow everything went in my favor, even though there were a bajillion obstacles in my way. My mom always says “everything happens for a reason”. I think about that a lot. I try and use this cliche of a phrase to rationalize out all of the good and bad stuff that has happened in my life. Like, even though some stuff totally hasn’t gone my way in the past (to the point where I’m still thinking, “well, what if?” about a bunch of stuff…), I guess it was meant to be. Still doesn’t make it any less frustrating though 🙂 But oh well!

Off to read, and then some sleep…

Have a good one!

