I don’t know how I managed to do that, but it totally happened.

I woke up earlier than I wanted to today, so I used that extra time to remember to sign up for my last unavailable day at work in the month of June (we’re allowed 3… and it’s smart to use up all 3 since they don’t roll over). So, my grandparents are coming to visit at the end of the month, so I took off a day I knew they’d be in town. I haven’t seen them since last March, so it will be nice to have a visit!

I worked for a bulk of the day today… it wasn’t really busy, but there were some choice moments that helped pass the time. Plus, I was working with 1-3 other people, so at least I always had someone to talk to! We helped the most adorable woman on the planet today. She was super feisty and had a bunch of great stories to share with us. We were laughing for a half hour… so she totally helped us pass the time!

At another point in the day, I was helping an older foreign woman (I was to say late 50s/early 60s). She kept asking how much various things were going to be is she used various coupons. So, I had to do a bunch of calculations in my head since I was nowhere near a calculator. Luckily, I love math and percentages are super easy, so I was rattling off a bunch of numbers mere seconds after she asked her questions. She looked at me and said, “You have very excellent math skills for an American.” I was dying of laughter on the inside.

After work, I drove home and changed into my comfy clothes. I made salad while my mom finished up outside, then we had dinner and watched an episode of Glee.

After dinner, I puttered downstairs and showered while she watered some more plants outside. My dad came home and we watched an episode of Modern Family. But, then nothing good was on, so I put on another episode of Glee (plus I watched one with breakfast… so that made 3 episodes total today).

If you frequent this blog, you’ll know that I live Glee. (wow, look at that typo… It should have said, “I love Glee.” But, perhaps that was a Freudian slip… I mean, I watch it all the time. I listen to Glee music all the time. Hell, I even auditioned to be on The Glee Project, which starts airing this Sunday on Oxygen. I didn’t make it, obviously. But I totally auditioned…)

The 3 episodes I watched today were “Home” (Season 1, episode 16), “Furt” (Season 2, episode 8), and “Dream On” (Season 1, episode 19).

If I weren’t so tired right now, I would launch into an epic monologue about why these 3 episodes are among the best of the series. Each contain great music numbers, but more importantly, each has solid messages. These shows cover body image and self acceptance/awareness(“Home”), bullying and the importance of family (“Furt”), and dreams and the importance of the arts (“Dream On”). Glee may get a bit preachy at times, but the heart of the show is in the right spot almost always. Plus, 2 of the episodes I watched today featured Mike O’Malley as Burt Hummel. Burt Hummel is the BEST. I could watch all of Burt Hummel’s scenes over and over again and still be moved each time. Mike O’Malley is a friggin’ brilliant actor. And he is one of the best parts about this show, for reals.

I’m off to bed… I have off tomorrow, so I’m going to take myself to the cinema to see X-Men: First Class (James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender and Nicholas Hoult… mmm). I love the first three X-Men films, though I thought Wolverine was one of the worst films I’ve ever seen in my entire life. Talk about a horrible script… yikes. So, even if X-Men: First Class is bad, it’ll still be better than Wolverine by default because of McAvoy and Fassbender.

Well, have a good one!

