… So, one year ago today, I was packing up my car and getting ready to make my first solo drive from SE Ohio to Minnesota. I was a wreck. I was really nervous about making that 15 hour drive by myself. I was sad to be leaving my school friends (even though I knew I would be back in 6 weeks to finish packing up my apartment). I felt like I was running (well, driving) away from everything instead of running (driving) toward something. I felt like a coward – I was temporarily moving into my parents house for a few weeks until I was supposed to move into an apartment with my best friend.

And here I am, one year later… I’m still at my parents house (my friend and I never got that apartment together, as I had to back out due to financial reasons). I’ve made that 15 hour drive 4 more times (3 by myself, once with my mom). I fell completely out of touch with a handful of friends who I found myself driving away from that day.

A lot has happened in this past year. And perhaps another night I will reflect more on that.

But tonight, I’m tired and I don’t want to cry thinking about everything that has or hasn’t happened in the past year. So, I’ll quickly recap my mostly uneventful day and post some of my favorite Tonys performances, as those make me extremely happy 🙂

First off, I once again did not work on my resume or job hunt. This will happen tomorrow, though, for sure.

Instead, I slept in (which I totally needed). I woke up to an empty house, so I watched 127 Hours, as I needed to get it back in the mail so we could get something else from Netflix.

127 Hours was really good. I’m a big fan of director Danny Boyle and its lead actor, James Franco. Franco’s Oscar nomination was well earned – he was mesmerizing in this film. I was surprised as how much I actually chuckled to myself during this film, given the horrific subject matter (it’s based on the true story of Aron Ralston, and how he got pinned in a canyon by a massive rock for 5 days, and how he managed to survive by ultimately cutting off part of his arm). Franco is very skilled as a comedic and dramatic actor, and these strengths only added to his already strong performance.

I braced myself for the film to be overtly graphic (I read accounts of people fainting during the amputation scene), but was quite surprised with how tastefully shot this sequence was. I mean, it was still really gruesome, but the camera didn’t linger for long on any given shot. Plus, it was more interesting to watch Franco’s eyes and facial expressions than to dawdle on the bloody mess that was his arm.

This was the last of the 10 films nominated for Best Picture this year that I had left to see, so I’m glad I can finally cross that off my list. I really appreciated this movie – I thought it was well paced and Franco made this an interesting watch.

After the movie, I let my dogs outside to play and then I ate lunch and watched some Glee to get myself in a more cheerful place after the drama of the morning’s screening.

My parents came home soon thereafter (they had some bird-related function to attend to), so I hung hout with them for a bit and chatted with my mom while she ate lunch.

Then, I went back downstairs to scrub my bathroom since my sister is coming into town tomorrow. I used to hate cleaning the bathroom… and it’s still not the most fun task ever… but it is more fun since I got my iPod doc for Christmas. Instead of listening to Glee or Darren Criss music, today I opted for Broadway, in honor of the Tonys tomorrow. I have decided that “Astonishing” from Little Women is going to be my anthem for the next few months as I try to find my place in this world. Jo March has always been a literary heroine of mine, but this song’s lyrics pretty much sum up everything that’s going on with me right now (minus the marriage proposal, as that has definitely not happened to me ever).

When I was done cleaning, I visited my mom out on the deck while she watered plants. Then we played ping pong for an hour or so… I won one game and she won all the rest. However, I did consider myself very victorious when I made my mom laugh so hard that she spewed iced tea all over herself, a cupboard, and the garage floor (we were taking a mini break between games). Usually I’m the one who is spewing my drink all over myself, as I laugh very easily. But my mom totally lost it… and tea went everywhere, and I laughed so hard at her that tears were rolling from my eyes and I had to absent myself from the garage and try to catch my breath out in the yard. It was quite hilarious.

After ping pong, we cooked pizza and finished watching Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and started watching Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. We’re maybe 1/2 way in.

And that’s it!

Tomorrow, I’ll work on job hunting stuff while my parents are at some sort of fishing function. My sister arrives sometime tomorrow, and they it’ll be time for the TONYS!

Ah, the Tonys. One of my favorite awards shows of all time, since I love Broadway, and I really love seeing numbers from the nominated musicals and musical revivals 🙂

Here are some of my most favorite Tonys performances from the past:

(In no particular order)

1. “Defying Gravity” – Wicked (2005) – This song gives me chills and I remember just being in awe of Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth. I have since seen the show, read the book series (which I didn’t like a whole lot, but I read them all), and have committed this soundtrack to memory.

2. “Everybody’s Got the Right” – Assassins (2005) – Neil Patrick Harris and Michael Cerveris, how I love you so. This is another soundtrack that I can’t get enough of… I would love to see this show.

3. “Into the Fire” – The Scarlet Pimpernel (1998) – I remember seeing this performance and being blown away by Douglas Sills (I was in 7th grade… I thought I was in love… I carried around his picture in my Secret Sender. I kid you not.). I love this soundtrack, even though I have never seen the show.

4. Medley from Rock of Ages (2009) – I have seen this show twice now in the past year… both times with Constantine Maroulis as Drew. I love this musical. But, the best part of this performance is, by far, Wesley Taylor (minute 3:19… you’re welcome).

5. Medley from Spring Awakening (2007) – After seeing this performance, I knew I had to see this show. And I did, that same summer… my sister and I saw the original cast and we were blown away. Lea Michele, Jonathan Groff and Jon Gallagher Jr. are AMAZING.

6. “Rose’s Turn” – Gypsy (2003) – Goosebumps all up and down my arms every time I watch this. Bernadette Peters KILLS this song. I used to watch this on a loop and wonder if I watched it enough, if I would be able to perform like her.

7. Medley from The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (2006) – After seeing this performance at the Tony Awards, I told my sister we had to see this show. And we did… during our first trip to New York City together that summer, we got tickets to see this show and I had never laughed so hard during live theater. I’m so thankful we got to see the original cast (though there was an understudy for Olive, we totally got to see Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Leaf Coneybear!!!!!!!!). One of my favorite shows ever – it’s so fun/funny!

8. “Being Alive” – Company (2007) – We saw this show in NYC too, original revival cast. Raul Esparza’s performance was so powerful that I felt like throwing up. And I mean that in the best way possible… he was just amazing. And so vulnerable. This song KILLS me every time.

9. “There She Is” – Titanic (1997) – Another show I haven’t seen, but one whose soundtrack I listen to a lot. This song, particularly, is just so mind blowing because they sing with such hope and we all know what happens to that ship… Once again, Michael Cerveris just blows my mind.

10. “The Tale of Sweeeney Todd” – Sweeney Todd (2006) – I saw this show with this cast too… and it was one of the most awesome and disturbing experiences of my life. We were in the third row… I can’t describe the feelings I had being that close in proximity to Michael Cerveris and Patti LuPone. Amazing. Just, amazing.

11. “A New Argentina” – Evita (1980) – I was going to just list 10, but I had to include this clip from Evita… Patti LuPone and Mandy Patinkin together = explosion of musical theater amazingness. I have this soundtrack. I’ve watched this clip more times than I should admit. Perfection.

12. “Let It Go” – The Full Monty (2001) – Okay, one more. This show is AMAZING! And Patrick Wilson is AMAZING! I saw the national tour and I laughed my ass off… If this ever gets revived, you need to see it.

I could totally list a bajillion more (like, the Spamalot performance, or Jersey Boys, or the 1994 revival of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying…), but I’ll stop now 🙂

I can’t wait for tomorrow’s show!

Have a good one

