Well, today is the first day of summer. And is it so wrong that a few of the first things I thought about this morning when I realized it was, in fact, summer were these songs:

1. Summertime (New Kids on the Block)

2. What Time Is It? (High School Musical 2 Soundtrack)

3. Summertime (Darren Criss cover – alas, no video, just audio)

And then basically anything by The Beach Boys

Go ahead – say it – I have bizarro taste in music. (Yeah, I listen to the HSM soundtracks… go ahead and judge. Those songs are catchy.)

So, it’s summer.

And I woke up with a splitting headache. Which is weird because I must have slept pretty good since I evidently slept through a thunderstorm or two (which never happens).

(tangent – I’m watching America’s Got Talent before The Voice starts and this little white girl is NAILING Alicia Keys “If I Ain’t Got You” – you go, little white girl.)

Regardless, headache. Boo. I sat down to breakfast with a rerun of Regis & Kelly b/c Darren Criss was on (I had seen it, but my mom hadn’t… and now that she’s a bit of a fan she sat down and watched with me), then when my mom went to run an errand, I decided I was going to go through some of my clothes to try and start a Goodwill pile.

I am not a fan of trying on clothes, even if they are clothes that I have owned for years. However, today was one of those days where I was feeling up for it. Perhaps it’s b/c I was procrastinating from filing out job applications (I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up), or perhaps it’s because I know I’ll need to pack up and leave here soonish and I would like to downsize what I can. Clothes seemed a good place to start.

So, I spent a few hours today trying on shirts, pants, hoodies, capris, etc… I did manage to make a few sizable stacks of clothes to donate. There’s just some stuff, though, that I still can’t part with yet. Like, my softball hoodie from high school. I haven’t worn it in almost 10 years, but I just can’t imagine getting rid of it because it has my name and number on the back. Same with some hoodies and shirts from where my siblings went to college. I got rid of one or two items, but I feel this need to hang onto a few of these articles of clothes because of the familial connection.

When I wasn’t trying on clothes/having a nostalgic fashion show, I did play some ping pong with my mom. I lost ever game today… which was bound to happen. I almost won a couple games, but I fell short a few points. And then, mid-tournament, I was going after a ball and I mashed my head against the side-view mirror of one of our cars. That really rattled me. Luckily, I hit the right side of my head (my continuing headache from this morning, which really has been more of isolated lightning strikes of pain, has been on the left side of my head). And luckily, I didn’t hit my head as hard as I could have. So even though it shook me up a bit, I’m pretty sure everything is gonna be a-okay. Yay.

Another thing that is finally a-okay is my DARS!!!!! I went to check it this morning and couldn’t access it, but then when I checked again this evening, the two components that were incomplete/in were GREEN!!!! And GREEN IS GOOD! I was so relived and happy and thankful. And a little sad – I was by myself when I found out (my parents = at Garrison Keillor’s house for a function).

Well… I’m gonna get going. The Voice is on, and it’s the semi-finals. I am completely happy with the 8 semi-finalists that were chosen… this should be an amazing show (depending on song choice and performance, obviously).

Have a good one

