I had full intention on job hunting this morning/afternoon.

However, I logged online at the exact moment the livestream was starting for the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II red carpet event was starting, so for the next four hours, my eyes were glued to the pixel-ly video on my screen. I couldn’t help but watch this historic event go down in its entirety. The last Harry Potter premiere in England. I had to be a part of it anyway I could… and that turned out to be me sitting on my bed for four hours starring at the computer, finally having to break into a box of Junior Mints from Christmas because I was starving by the 3rd hour.

I’m beyond grateful that I watched the whole thing. (My mom popped in my room part way through to see if I wanted to play ping pong… I had to turn her down and stick with the red carpet. I told her she could go ahead and eat lunch without me… she laughed and assured me she was going to do just that.)

Even though the hosts and announcer guy were not exactly the greatest (there were several obvious flubs in information – calling Luna Lovegood “Lune Lovejoy” and not knowing the difference between James and Oliver Phelps at any time throughout the entire telecast, calling Draco Harry’s main nemesis, saying there was a love triangle between Harry-Ron-Hermione, saying there was a love triangle between Harry-Ginny-and an unnamed 3rd character, etc…), the livestream was really engaging. They showed a few interview and production clips from the whole series. The arrivals were so staggered that you really got to see each actor interact with the fans and then hear an interview. I was most excited to see Ralph Fiennes, Daniel Radcliffe, J.K. Rowling, and Darren Criss… of course they were all toward the very end of the livestream, but it was worth it.

(Unfortunately they didn’t interview Darren, but they did show him for a little bit… and the presenter guy was hating on him for his outfit and for spinning around and jumping for the photographers. Obviously the presenter was completely unaware that this kind of red carpet behavior is completely normal for Darren Criss… which is why we get to see pictures that look like this, this, and this from various red carpet/premiere endeavors. You keep being you, Darren. You keep being you.)

Ralph Fiennes wasn’t particularly loquacious, but I didn’t expect him to be. I actually laughed a bit when I saw him arrive on the red carpet. True story – I had a super awkward encounter with Mr. Fiennes 5 summers ago in NYC. My sister and I waited for him outside the stage door of The Booth before his play, The Faith Healer, so we could get our pictures with him. He’s my favorite actor of all time, and when I actually got to see him/meet him, I kinda freaked out and delivered an epic monologue about how much I love him and how I’ve seen all of his films and how Quiz Show was the film that made me want to study films. He chuckled at me, but I just kept talking. Luckily, he was kind enough to let me get my picture taken with him. I was so embarrassed after the fact that I couldn’t watch any of his films (except for the Harry Potter series) for two years.

Me and Ralph Fiennes ... I still can't believe this actually happened.

(Another true story – I actually had a super awkward encounter with *another* actor at the HP7 Part II premiere. Ironically, this actor also played Lord Voldemort, albeit in the viral musical version of the source material. A couple months ago, I tried to buy Joe Walker a drink at a bar. I honestly wasn’t trying to hit on him [honest], I was trying to do it as a “thank you” after one of his performances… but the bar was loud, and neither he nor the bar tender could hear me very well. So, instead of getting him the drink, the bar tender gave me a bottle of water, and when I tried to rectify the situation, both guys had moved on to talk to other people, so I was left standing there with a bottle of water, even though I already had a Diet Pepsi in my hand. Even though I was very embarrassed by this, it’s very likely that Joe Walker has absolutely no idea who I am, and that he probably doesn’t even remember this happened. But, every time I see a picture or video of him now, I kinda shake my head and remember the bar situation. I saw a couple seconds of him during the livestream. He was at the premiere with Darren Criss. I think it’s totally awesome that the two of them got to attend this monumental event.)

Anyway, enough embarrassing stories about me…

It was great to see how excited people were to see Daniel Radcliffe, but even more so, it was brilliant to see the reaction when J.K. Rowling showed up.

I am tickled pink that so many people are that excited by a writer. She pretty much single-handedly saved reading (in my opinion, of course). So many people have read this series. Those books are really, really well written. And those characters will stay with us for all time.

Near the end of the livestream, an executive from Warner Bros., Producers David Heyman and David Barrons, Director David Yates, actors Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Watson and Rupert Grint, as well as J.K. Rowling all said a few words about the people they’ve worked with and their Harry Potter experience on a whole.

I am not ashamed to admit that I was in tears throughout most of this part of the livestream. These books meant a lot to me over the past decade, and same with the films. I love them. And I am beyond sad that this is the end of the film series. But it’s not the end. Not really. We’ll always have the books and the movies (and the musicals… woot woot.) Rowling put it best when she said, ““Whether you come back by the page, or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

I, for one, plan on rereading this series throughout the rest of my life.

I’m going to a midnight premiere of Deathly Hallows Part II. I fully expect to sob throughout most of the move. (For the record, I’ve only ever cried during 3 movies in my entire life… A League of Their Own, In America, and Million Dollar Baby. But, I know I will be bawling during HP7 Part 2. The trailer made me tear up. Hell, I can’t even listen to Hedwig’s Theme anymore without getting choked up.) I’m okay with being a wreck, though. This has been a decade in the making… tears happen when you say goodbye to something you’ve known for so long.

So, after my four hours of Harry Potter livestream, I ate some lunch and folded my laundry. I was going to start making mix CDs, but opted for ping pong w/my mom instead.

Later tonight, we watched Community, Parks & Rec, and Glee re-runs.

Tonight’s Glee re-run was “Original Song” – one of my favorite Glee episodes of all time… mostly because THIS happened. That, and I really love it when the Warblers sing “Raise Your Glass“… I f**king love that song.

I wrote a huge blog about this episode when it originally aired in March. You can read that HERE if you want 🙂

Well, I’m off to read… then sleep… then maybe wake up and go see Horrible Bosses. We’ll see, though.

Have a good one!

