I’m a fairly tolerant person. Except for when it comes to people who are epically ignorant.

In today’s national and local news, this was one of the big stories – Presidential hopeful/MN congresswoman Michele Bachmann and her husband, Dr. Marcus Bachmann, run a clinic that tries to cure gay people by trying to turn them straight through prayer.

Now, I know this isn’t the whole story… but come on.

What I always want to know is how/where did present adults learn this kind of thought process/behavior? Intolerance is a learned habit, whereas ignorance is a lack of education. What a horrible, horrible combination.

A friend of mine posted today on Facebook his disgust with Michele Bachmann and her like-minded colleagues (I’m paraphrasing, obviously…) and then went on to say that he hates being considered a second class citizen, but that he loves his partner and is looking forward to another 17 years, at least, of being together and how he hopes one day that what they share will be legal in the state that they live in.

I can’t tell you how ridiculously happy/proud I was to see his post. Even though I’ve heard some stories, I honestly can’t even imagine what it’s been like for him and his partner to be together that long and for have other people (including government officials) tell them that what they have is wrong.

I know I take for granted that if I fall in love with a guy and we want to get married, we can. In any state we want. With pretty much no questions asked. Hell, if I was in Vegas, I could meet a guy and we could get married within the hour if that’s what we wanted to do.

Besides Michele Bachmann and her husband’s pray-the-gay-away techniques, I’m embarrassed to be living in Minnesota right now because our state government is still shut down. A friend of mine from work lost her other job because it’s affected by the shutdown. She’s not the only one… so many people are out of work right now because of this. I’m pretty sure the state is losing money as I’m typing this. And it doesn’t even seem like government officials are even really talking to each other. Tonight on the local news, they showed the governor talking at one press function, while two Republicans were talking at another on. TALK TO EACH OTHER, FOR GOODNESS SAKES. Shit, people. You’re not going to get anything done if you aren’t meeting with each other.

How frustrating.

Today was just an all around frustrating day. I had a heck of a time at work today… there were some mighty unhappy people due to bad experiences with customer service, do to (I’m thinking) lack of training. At work, sometimes I feel like they just shove new people into their positions without any sort of guidance. And since we’re always short-staffed, it’s probably hard for new people to ask questions because there is physically no one around to ask. A colleague and I spent an hour with one couple trying to answer their questions and resolve their issue with our workplace. An hour. And I was only at work for 4 hours today. Needless to say, I didn’t come close to making my sales goal. So, I’ll likely get scolded for that, even though I worked my ass off with my colleague trying to help this couple. Oh well. I did the best I could do with the resources available.

I got someone to cover two of my shifts this week so I could go visit my sister. Today at our meeting, the higher ups were saying that they needed people to work this weekend… which is when my shifts were that I got other people to cover. The higher ups were saying how it’s our responsibility to pick up extra shifts in addition to what we were scheduled on busy days because that’s part of what we signed on to do when we got hired. In my opinion, they should just freakin’ schedule enough people when they’re making the schedules and then they wouldn’t have to call people on the day of to scramble to try and get more coverage in our respective work areas. I used to be in charge of making schedules at a previous job… it’s not rocket science.

But, as much as I like the people I work with, I’m glad I managed to find people to cover my shifts so I don’t have to be there this weekend. Instead, I am going to be enjoying visiting my sister… Harry Potter and the NKOTBSB concert are gonna be epic.

Well… off to sleep

Have a good one

P.S. You know what else is going to be epic? The Darren Criss concert in Chicago in August… I cannot friggin’ wait for this. I heard from the girl I’m going with a couple days ago and we were both gushing about how excited we are for what we have planned that weekend. I already paid for my my part of the trip. This is actually happening 🙂

So, in honor of my epic excitement for Darren’s show, as well as HP7 opening this week, here’s one of my favorite scenes from A Very Potter Sequel… it’s when Harry Potter meets Ron Weasley for the first time before going to Platform 9 3/4… and then Ron sings a song about Harry Freakin’ Potter. Enjoy:

