I’m still way out of it from my trip, so this shan’t be a long post. I still promise to recap my thoughts/opinions of HP7 Part 2, but tonight is not the night. Between not sleeping much this weekend, spending all day in the car yesterday, and then this crazy hot weather/no break for the bajillionth time at work has got me completely worn out.

But, even though I am too tired to write an epic post tonight, I did feel the need to spread some love for NKOTBSB.

Yes, you read that right – NKOTBSB (i.e. the super awesome combination of the New Kids on the Block and the Backstreet Boys)

My sister and I attended the NKOTBSB concert on Saturday night in Kansas City. Super long story short, we got our seats upgraded from nosebleed to 3 rows up from the floor for free. So, we had AMAZING seats. At various points in the show, we were probably 100 or so feet away from the guys (there was a stage out in the audience that they came out to a lot).

I really wanted to go to the concert and my sister agreed to go with me (b/c she’s cool like that). And at first, I was a little embarrassed to go… I mean, boy bands aren’t considered to be socially acceptable forms of entertainment these days.

But you know what – SCREW THAT.

I love me some boy bands. They have ridiculously catchy music. Most of the guys in said boy bands are cute. And, best of all, boy bands remind me of when I was little.

At one point in the concert, the New Kids on the Block were out on the stage near us and Joey McIntyre (my FAVORITE New Kid) was saying how grateful they were for their fans, and how there were several generations of fans in the audience.

During his speech, it dawned on me that I have been a fan of the New Kids on the Block since 1989. I was 5 going on 6 years old when I first got into their music. My sister and I had the cassette tapes and a VHS tape of some of their performances. We watched the short-lived animated series. We had the New Kids on the Block fashion plates. We loved them.

And you know what… I still do. 21 year later, I am still a big New Kids on the Block fan. And proud of it.

I still have a couple of their CDs. Their album from a few years ago, “The Block,” is actually really good. (“Summertime” and “Single” were GREAT singles)

I bought the same concert VHS I had of theirs when I was little at the Goodwill a few years ago. And I still remembered all of the dance moves… you just can’t forget them.

I love the New Kids on the Block. I was most excited about seeing them perform on Saturday and they did not disappoint.

I was pretty pumped to see the Backstreet Boys too. Even though I favor the New Kids a bit more than them, I actually know waaaaaaaaaay more Backstreet Boys songs. (“Millenium” is one of my favorite albums of all time from any music group ever – seriously, that whole album is solid from top to bottom.) Though my favorite BSB person used to be Kevin (who is no longer in the group), I still got a huge kick out of seeing Nick, Brian, AJ and Howie πŸ™‚

The whole concert was a ginormous trip down memory lane. I knew all but 2 songs the whole night. So, I was in heaven.

I had this huge grin on my face the whole time and was singing (loudly) along to all of these cheesetastically awesome songs that I have loved over the past 2 decades.

With each song, I felt like I was winning the pop culture nostalgia lottery. To get to see the New Kids on the Block sing and dance live to “The Right Stuff” was amazing. To watch Joey McIntyre sing “Please Don’t Go Girl” 100 feet away from me was something I will likely never forget. To see the Backstreet Boys perform “I Want it That Way” live, knowing that anytime I hear that song, I stop what I’m doing and sing along regardless if anyone is around to judge me. These songs are my childhood and my teen years. These songs are my jams. These songs are the auditory equivalent of comfort food. I can’t help but smile when I hear anything from either group.

And so, I am beyond thankful that NKOTBSB happened and that they are touring and that I was lucky enough to see them perform. It was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to. I was just so full of joy the whole time – it was a real treat. And I’m thankful I got to share that with my sister. She enjoyed herself as well, which was a super added bonus. She even commented how she remembered more songs of theirs than she thought she would. These groups were a big deal during some very formative years of ours… they will always be part of the soundtrack of my life.

So, here’s to you, gentlemen of NKOTBSB. Thanks for taking me back to the music of my youth and allowing me to just be ridiculously happy for a few hours while I watched you sing and dance to some of the songs I know I’ll never forget as long as I live.

πŸ™‚

Here’s their opening medley of “Single” and “The One” (set to Coldplay’s “Viva La Vida”) … not my video, for the record.

Yeah, it was awesome πŸ™‚

Have a good one

