I’m an artsy person, but I’m not super creative. Does that make sense? Like, I can kinda sing, dance, act, play some instruments, etc… but when it comes to writing, sometimes I just am epically lacking creativity. Like the title for tonight’s blog post. Totally not creative. My epic lack of skills when it comes to coming up with headlines and subheads for articles I’ve written/stuff for class when I was in school. Totally not creative enough to rock those out like/when I needed to.

There’s a reason why I’m way better at writing non-fiction than fiction… because I have to write what I know because I’m not creative enough to do anything else.

(This, of course, is me over-exaggerating. The one script that I am actually proud of/got produced was fiction… it was also an adaptation. But still. It wasn’t about me.)

But, I digress.

Sometimes I just don’t fancy myself as a creative entity. And yet here I write, trying to get you to read my stuff.

Today was an odd day. Not in a bad way, but not in a great way either.

I woke up after a pretty real dream about some pretty real people. I say “real” because it took place with people I know in a familiar. You’re not going to get the details outta me here on the Interwebs, but I will say that I know in the dream I was really content. And then when I woke up, I was less so because I soon realized it was, in fact, just a dream, and that the plot of said dream was my subconscious playing a cruel trick on me. I wasn’t mad or sad when I woke up, I was more of a “I wonder why I dreamt that… oh wait, now I remember.” It’s amazing how a seemingly fleeting thought from the day before can materialize into a full-fledged plot while you’re sleeping.

I find dreams very, very fascinating. I still remember a lot of weird ones I’ve had over the years. My earliest dream that I can recall is from when I was 3 or 4… I dreamt that chocolate chip cookies grew on pine trees and that The Monkees were playing a concert on a stage in our front yard of the farm where I lived at the time. I remember several graphic tornado dreams. I remember various flying ones. Various ones where I’m being chased by various beings (aliens, bad guys, etc…). Various ones where I’ve been injured or killed. Various ones about meeting musicians or actors. If I was half as creative as my dreams are, I would be swimming in creativity like Scrooge McDuck swims in his gold coins.

I had to go to work for a few hours today. I was with at least 2 people the entire time, so that was nice. It wasn’t as busy today as yesterday, which was also nice. I could spend more one-on-one time with the people I was helping and I never had to feel rushed.

Today marked the last day for one of my colleagues who retired (which I only found out about yesterday). She was with the company for 19 years. I have no idea how she did that. I’ve only worked with her since September, but I know she is a lovely, lovely woman and I will miss her a lot. She is one of the kindest people I’ve ever met in my entire life and her presence will be missed at work, for sure.

Since we weren’t busy, we all took turns going into the conference room to sit with her and have treats. It was nice to spend some time with her like that before she left. I’m not super close with anyone at work, but in a weird way we are still like a family. Pretty much everyone looks out for everyone else, which is really comforting. There is some competition here and there, but on a whole, it’s a very friendly, supportive environment. When I leave the company, it’s going to be one of those situations where I’ll miss the people more than I’ll miss the job. Colleagues really make or break the work environment. I’ve been lucky to work with a lot of super amazing people at my various jobs. I am really thankful for that 🙂

There is almost always music playing at work. I’ve noticed over the past week that some different songs have been added to the rotation. I almost choked on my own spit laughing so hard when this song came on today. (Not the live version, mind you.)

I felt like I was in a [bad] romantic comedy. (Like this movie… that totally used that song in it.)

There are just some songs that automatically make me think (as much as I HATE this term) “chick flick.”

“Breathless” is definitely one of them. So are “Why Can’t I?” by Liz Phair, “Breathe” by Michelle Branch and “I’m Coming Out” by Diana Ross.

Right?

I mean, there are a bajillion more, but these scream rom-com to me. (“Why Can’t I” – 13 Going on 30, “Breathe,” – trailer for P.S., I Love You, “I’m Coming Out” – Maid in Manhattan, FYI)

As much as I hate on the rom-com sometimes, I will admit that I have seen a lot of them. Some by choice, some by force.

I have a notebook in which I used to write ideas for scripts. When I was a freshman or sophomore in college, I was walking back to my dorm through an area of campus where there were a bunch of planted trees. I was alone and it got really windy all of a sudden. It was the time of year where there were flowers on the trees, and the wind whipped so hard that the white flower petals were ripped from the trees and blown around in the air. It looked and felt like it was snowing, but instead of cold snow, I was enveloped in white flower petals. I stopped dead in my tracks and just was in the moment, wishing I wasn’t the only person experiencing this truly magical occurrence. When I finally made it to my room, I wrote down what happened in my notebook. It felt like something that would happen in a rom-com. So, should I ever write a rom-com, I’ll try and work that into my script. (Watch someone go and steal this idea from me now… but I’ll know it was mine.)

There’s a bunch of other little snippets of life like this written in my notebook. Perhaps someday soon they’ll find their way on paper.

Well, I’m off to read a bit and then sleep. Tomorrow morning will be used for job hunting before I go to work tomorrow evening. This weekend will be some more job hunting, some choreography rehearsing, and perhaps some writing. (I’ve been making lists of autobiographical short stories I’ve been meaning to type out.)

Have a good one

