One good thing that comes of me still being here at my parents house is that I get to spend time with my parents, especially on holidays such as today – my dad’s birthday.

Even though I know I need to move away from here as soon as humanly possible (job market, why must you suck so?), I am thankful to get to spend time with my family. I have always been a family-oriented person. Today we were reminiscing about the summer of 2002. My dad got hurt really and super long story short, he spent a majority of the summer in a hospital bed in our living room. (He’s fine… nothing a little hip replacement surgery couldn’t fix šŸ™‚ )

Anyway, my mom and I took care of him the whole summer while my siblings were off doing their own things. (They were in town. They just didn’t partake in the care-taking, if you will.) It was a good summer, despite the circumstances. Things could have been a lot worse than they were, and I am thankful every day that everything ended up okay.

So, it’s because of stuff like that that I am extra thankful for getting to spend time with my family. I know a lot of people my age probably wouldn’t want to live/hang with their parents. And, as much as I don’t want to be living with them anymore (I’m an adult – I should be able to fend for myself… even though I’m super poor and have no awesome job prospects at the moment.), I like being around my parents. They’re cool people. (Unless my dad happens to be reading this – yeah, you – then only mom is cool. You need to stop reading this now. Thanks.)

We had a fun day – we went out to lunch and then up to the gun range for some clay bird and target shooting. The lighter 20-gauge worked… I actually busted two clay birds. I still managed to bruise my arm though. It’s just really red right now – I have a feeling the bruise will ripen tomorrow. Fun time. While my dad did some paper target shooting, my mom and I took turns with a .22 shooting at this spinning target thing. It had 4 hanging circle targets and a lone circle target. You were supposed to hit any/all of the 4 hanging targets. They would swing up on top of a bar if you hit them. Then, when you hit the lone circle, the hanging targets would fall back down into place to hit them again. That kept us busy for awhile. Then my mom and I took a turn with the paper targets. I managed to get two of five shots within the mark, whereas my mom got a couple more than I. And she got one dead center. My closest one to dead center was off by a centimeter or so. I was pretty pleased with my target shooting, though.

On the way home from the range, I fell asleep in the car. Naps are awesome. I rarely am able to take them, but when I do – damn, are they enjoyable.

Back at the house, my mom suggested we make some alcoholic beverages, so I blended up some peach-mango-strawberry smoothies with coconut rum. We had them out on the deck while we dipped our feet in the kiddie pool that’s set up out on the deck. Quite enjoyable as well.

Awhile later, I helped my parents make dinner. My mom and I then played 4 games of ping pong – I won the 3rd game. We all read for a bit and then I decided to pack it in. So, here I type.

I’m worn out from the fun day and look forward to sleep. I don’t work tomorrow or Sunday, so I will be resuming job hunting tomorrow, in addition to doing at least an hour or two of rehearsal for a function I will be partaking in in a couple weeks šŸ™‚

Have a good one

