I’m 27 years old. How the hell do I not meet a minimum age requirement?

The best part is (worst part?)… it’s for the exact same company at which I am currently employed. Different location, of course. But same company. And my age was not a problem where I’m working now… so, what gives?

The “sorry you didn’t get it” email provided an email address that I could contact if I had questions about why I didn’t get an interview. So, I sent an email asking what the age minimum is… just to see why I didn’t have a chance at getting the job.

Today was quite the day.

I went to work for a few hours and was super busy. A couple unhappy people. A couple very happy people. A lot of very grateful people. It’s a really good feeling when someone goes out of their way to let me know that I was helpful and that I am good at my job. Since customer service is one of the main aspects of my position, it’s nice to know that I am meeting or excelling most customers expectations.

It’s pleasing the higher ups where I am still not meeting expectations, I think. I mean, I haven’t gotten yelled at or anything, but sometimes it seems that sales goals and instant gratification are more important than building a lasting partnership with our customers.

Also, a higher up tried to get me to sign something today regarding taking money out of my paycheck. I was handed a form and expected to sign it right away without reading it… I was also in the middle of helping someone. I didn’t sign it, and instead waited until I had a moment to collect my thoughts and actually read the document I was handed. Luckily, I asked the right questions and was able to sign the document without agreeing to have anything taken out of my paycheck. I will give money on my own accord if I want to to the organizations of my choosing (which I do), but I did not appreciate being put in a situation where I was expected to give money from my already meager paycheck to an organization that I may or may not already support. I did not feel I was wrong to question the document, though I don’t think the higher up appreciated my hesitance or questioning.

We had a bad thunderstorm today while I was at work and the lights flickered and our phones went dead. Not cool. Everything ended up okay, though it was raining super hard by time I got to go home.

Back at the house, I went online to see if the Darren Criss Broadway thing was a go…

IT IS!!!

It was made official today that Darren Criss will be appearing in How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying for a 3 week run in January!

(Confession – I bought my ticket 3 days ago.)

I am super excited. I have no idea where I’ll be in January or what I’ll be doing, but I know for damn sure I will be making my way to the Great White Way for at least one day to see him in the show. From the 8th row of the orchestra. Eight rows away from the stage… it’s going to be glorious.

How to Succeed is one of my favorite musicals of all time. And what I am loving about this revival is that it’s a fairly dance-heavy show. I’ve seen clips of “Grand Old Ivy” and “Brotherhood of Man” online or on TV. I am going to have the biggest grin on my face during this entire musical, I just know it.

I don’t know Darren (obviously), but that doesn’t keep me from being super happy for him. It’s really amazing all that he’s accomplished in the past couple years. He graduated from college a couple years ago, he helped form a theater production company with his friends (StarKid), he earned himself a guest role on Glee which has now turned into a Series Regular for upcoming Season 3, he’s still doing solo shows, and now he’s going to be starring in a Broadway musical. He’s 24 years old.

(I feel like such a slacker.)

I’m really excited to see the show. I’ve become a big fan of Darren through his involvement with Glee and StarKid. I respect him as an artist and a person (watch or read his interviews… he seems like a super normal, grounded person). And to get the chance to see him perform in one of my favorite musicals is going to be a really big thing. It’s a notable moment early in his career, but it’s also going to be a big deal for me.

I bought one ticket to the show. I’m going to turn this into my own grand adventure. Like I wrote earlier, I don’t know where I’ll be or what I’ll be doing in January. But I’m going to make it to NYC for that show. Hey, who knows, maybe I’ll be living there already and will just make it a day in the theater district. Maybe I’ll be living in the midwest and have to fly or drive into the city for the weekend.

Regardless, I’ll be doing this by myself (as of right now). That kinda scares the hell out of me, but at the same time, it could actually be really fun. I’m going to be in my favorite city, seeing one of my favorite shows, starring one of my favorite actors. It’s going to be friggin’ epic.

Speaking of friggin’ epic… next week I get to road trip 🙂 I cannot wait to hang out with everyone I’m going with!!!

So, even though I’m super stressed about still having no idea what my future holds, I can still smile about some awesome things I’m going to be seeing. Woot

Have a good one

