I have a three day weekend ahead of me and I plan to spend quite a bit of time job hunting. I hope to get as many applications as I can out this weekend. I haven’t given up hope or anything, but it would be super awesome to find a job where I can use the skills I crafted together over the past few years… I have degrees in video production and journalism. I have expansive knowledge about popular culture. I am really good at math and learn (and remember) computer programs very quickly. I have writing experience. I have experience working on video, film and television crews. I have office and retail management experience. Surely there is somewhere that is hiring that needs someone with the skills I have. Right?????

I just really need to find a job so I can (1) feel like a fully functioning member of society and (2) so people will stop asking me about how my job hunt is going.

I have applied for probably 50-60 jobs over the past month or so… so when someone asks me what I’ve applied for, I honestly don’t remember all the specifics of all of the jobs. All the questions only remind me that I am still where I’m at and still in a job that I’m good at, but one that I would really rather not make into any sort of career because it’s soul crushing and my colleagues are not only underpaid, but under appreciated. I am beyond thankful that I have a job right now, but I need to find something else. I did not go through 6 years of undergraduate and graduate education for shits and giggles. I want to use what I learned in a place of business where I am compensated for contributing to the greater good.

Jobs. Jobs. Jobs.

Did you watch President Obama’s speech tonight? It was awesome, as per usual. He is a really great speaker. Although his “You need to pass this act” bit got a tad repetitive (and I’m totally on his side for all that he said), I think it was done to reiterate the point that we don’t have 14 months to figure out the job crisis in our country. Actions need to happen NOW in order to try and get the USA back on its feet. I’m so friggin’ sick of Republicans and Democrats not listening to each other or the American people when they go about their business in Washington. We are the UNITED States… get your shit together, Congress, and pass some legislation that will help more Americans find jobs, and make the wealthiest 2% pay their fair share of taxes. That sounds pretty reasonable, right?

Bottom line – I dug Obama’s speech.

What I did not like was post-speech, the news people announced that there is some threat to our country this weekend surrounding the 9/11 10-year anniversary.

I’m not gonna lie – this scares me. Every year around 9/11 scares me, actually. That was one of the worst days in American history and something I will never, ever forget. I was a senior in high school on 9/11. I have spent my entire adult life in a post-9/11 society.

I have friends in New York and DC. I always worry about them because big cities are “dangerous,” but especially around this time of year. And I want to move to NYC one day. *shrug*

So, I think I’ll finish watching Bones and then probably watch some of the Packers/Saints game. Go Packers 🙂

Have a good one

