Right now I’m sitting in front of the fireplace watching 60 Minutes. Presently, there is a story about a kid who shot his dad. The dad was a Nazi. This story takes place in modern times, not WWII… so, yeah. Yikes. Now they are talking about a White Supremacy Group that wants this country to be only white people. Also Yikes. I cannot understand this kind of intolerance toward other races. I am continually thankful that I was raised in a household that tolerated all races and religions.

I’m only watching this show right now because Trey Parker and Matt Stone will be on soon, and they will likely be talking about South Park and The Book of Mormon. I’ve only seen a few episodes of South Park (though I am well aware of the show and its popularity), but I am a big fan of The Book of Mormon. I know the soundtrack backwards and frontwards, and have seen bits and pieces of it here and there.

Then after 60 Minutes is The Amazing Race!!!! My sister got me hooked on this show and my mom and I have continued to watch it since I moved in here. Though sometimes the bickering between teams gets on my nerves a bit, I do appreciate the travel aspect of the show, as well as the problem solving parts. This show really encompasses a lot of skills – problem solving, communication, recall/recognition, tolerance, patience. It’s highly entertaining. And I like the host a lot 🙂 (Phil!!)

Today was mostly uneventful. I slept in until 9:30 (woot), then had breakfast and threw in some laundry. I applied for some jobs while I watched West Side Story. I have seen this movie dozens of times by now, but I still love it. The prologue, “Dance at the Gym“, “America” and “Cool” sequences are some of my favorite movie dance sequences of all time.

I am not a dancer, nor do I pretend that I am any good at it. (I like to think I have rhythm and a decent understanding or choreography, but I wouldn’t gloat about any of that because I know I’m not that great.) However, I do love dance and appreciate when it’s done well. So, in addition to West Side Story, I have several other dance-based films in my DVD collection including Singin’ in the Rain, Strictly Ballroom and Center Stage (among others).

What else did I do today?? Um, I watched some Mad Men and football. And played some Yahtzee with my mom.

I have work tomorrow, but then a couple days off (in which I will be seeing Moneyball – woot!).

Oh, I guess the only other awesome thing was the Season Premiere of Saturday Night Live last night. It was, in a word, hilarious.

Maybe it was because I was super tired and ready to laugh at anything, but on more than several occasions during the show, I laughed so hard that tears were welling up and almost streaming down my cheeks. Host Alec Baldwin (his 16th time – a show record) completely owned that show, with great support from Taran Killam, Kristen Wiig and Seth Meyers (among others). Alec Baldwin brought back his recurring Tony Bennett impression, which had me in stitches during Weekend Update. There was no digital short, but the cold open was amazing (GOP Debate 7 or 8). Also, Seth Rogen and Steve Martin’s appearances during the monologue were much appreciated and very, very funny. The Top Gun auditions were PRICELESS. Melissa McCarthy (from Gilmore Girls, Bridesmaids and recent Emmy winner for Mike & Molly) is hosting next week… I can’t wait!

Well… The Amazing Race is almost on (btw – the Matt Parker/Trey Stone interview on 60 Minutes was excellent)

Have a good one!

