And you know what? I don’t even care. I had off from work. I’m not feeling well. I didn’t have anywhere to be. So I was staying as comfortable as possible while I tried to get over this crud.

I was so worn out from yesterday’s shenanigans, but I couldn’t sleep last night because my throat hurt so bad (and I had about a bajillion things on my mind… bah). I turned off everything before 11:00 (which, like, never happens), and watched my clock click to well past 4:30 before I finally dozed off. I woke up around 8:30 and it felt like someone scratched the back of my throat with a fork. When I crawled up the stairs to greet my dogs, I sounded like Kathleen Turner. That’s how I really knew I wasn’t going to be having a productive day.

I took care of my dogs and then made myself a big bowl of oatmeal (complete with rainbow sprinkles… I don’t know how people can eat oatmeal w/o sprinkles). I popped in my first of two movies for the day – Taking Woodstock. I hadn’t seen it before, but I liked the cast and director and enjoyed the trailer, so I thought I would give it a whirl. I liked it a lot. I appreciated the backstory of how Woodstock came to be. I obviously wasn’t around during that time period, but I am very familiar with the music and what was going on in our country and around the world. Great cast, man. Great cast.

I was semi productive today in that I spent awhile looking for out of state jobs. I didn’t send in any resumes today (I need to update a few things first), but I bookmarked several positions that I believe I would be an awesome candidate. I read a bit, but then this afternoon when I popped in movie number two (Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day), I ended up falling asleep for about an hour.

Man, I needed that. Badly. My eyelids have felt like bricks the past few days and getting an hour of solid sleep was really quite lovely.

One of the best things about today was that my dogs were around the whole time – and by around, I mean sleeping on me or near me. Moose slept in my lap for most of Taking Woodstock. She slept on the floor next to he couch I slept on during my second movie. My other dog hung around too and “checked in on me” (i.e. poked me in the face with her cold, wet nose) every now and again. Dogs are the best company when you’re not feeling well. The best.

When my dad got home, we watched a few episodes of Parks & Rec from season 3. We’re killing time before tonight’s new episodes of Community, Parks & Rec, and Bones are on. Then I’ll probably try and get some more sleep. I work tomorrow night. Hopefully by then I’ll be feeling better. It’s only a 4 hour shift; I should be fine.

Have a good one

P.S. Thank you to my family and friends for being so awesome after yesterday’s crappy day. It’s really great knowing that there are people who care about my well being 🙂 I ❤ you all!!

