I’m still not feeling 100%, so I feel perfectly fine spending this friggin’ cold Saturday night sitting in front of the fireplace and watching Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer while one of my dogs is using me as a pillow.

I’ve watched Rudolph every year (usually multiple times) ever since I was born. This show is extra special to me because 12 years ago, we were watching it when a neighbor knocked on our door and asked if we wanted to take in a stray puppy that was dumped in their yard. We gladly accepted guardianship of the most adorable puppy of all time and we promptly named her Yukon Cornelius. We still have Yukon. She’s no longer a puppy, but she is the best guard dog we’ve ever had and we love her to pieces 🙂 Yukon was sitting with me tonight while we were watching the show, but she ditched me for the other couch. Our other dog, Moose, quickly jumped up and took her spot, so now Moose is sleeping on me. She’s super warm, as is the fire in the fireplace. It’s very cozy in here – feels good. All our Christmas trees and other lights/decorations in the house are lit… the holidays are awesome around here. I’m continually thankful to get to spend them with my family. I can’t wait to see my siblings in the next couple weeks!!

Hey, what do you say we both be independent together, huh?”

Oh that Hermey, what a guy.

(He’s my favorite character on the show… him and his little elf outfit and swoopy blonde hair.)

I was going to go Christmas shopping today, but since I’m still kinda sick, I’m going to go on Friday. I know that’s kinda cutting it close, but I couldn’t drag myself out of the house today.

So, instead of shopping, I watched a lot of Parks & Rec, and I also decorated our last Christmas tree. (We have 3… I decorated the other 2 last weekend.) My mom put up some more lights and garland and even put our tree hat on our mounted deer head in the foyer. (I named our deer “Buck Henry” after Buck Henry, the writer/actor responsible for some of my favorite films).

AWWWWWWWW, the Spotted Elephant! He’s my favorite misfit on the Island of Misfit Toys 🙂

Well… I’m gonna finish the show and then read/watch more Parks & Rec or maybe Love Actually until SNL is on.

Have a good one

