Word.

I am still pretty sick (spent the past two nights coughing instead of sleeping šŸ˜¦ ) and I got into a huge fight with my parents tonight. Ergo, I’m in a mood.

However, tonight was this season’s Christmas episode of Glee… so I had a little smile on my face for at least an hour.

Glee – Season 3 Episode 9 – “Extraordinary Merry Christmas” (note – I Will Post links to gifs, Videos and songs as soon as I can find them)

(SPOILERS IF YOU HAVEN’T SEEN THE EPISODE)

NO, we don’t know what was in the box. (Klaine people know what I’m talking about.) HOWEVER, get over it. There was a whole other 42 minutes of mostly pleasant Christmas Glee. (Hold the phone… we DO know what is in the box c/o TV Line… supposedly this scene will be on the DVD. What about all the other missing scenes from prior seasons, though?!?!?! Come on! We want those too…)

The episode opened in the choir room with Mercedes singing “All I Want For Christmas is You.” This was a given that she was going to sing this song. Even though the Mariah Carey version will forever and always be my favorite, this version was nice too. And is it just me, or is Mercedes looking extra pretty this season?! I loved her purple dress.

So, everyone sang and danced about the choir room. Yay happy.

I think after the “glee” title card, we went to Sue’s office where she asked Artie (“Wheels”), Kurt (“Porcelain”) and Blaine (“Other Gay”) to sing at the homeless shelter that Friday. It seems that after her sister’s passing, Sue is nicer around Christmas time this year (remember last year she was the Grinch?). The boys agree to have the Glee club sing and they each get another round of nicknames before she kicks them out of her office… Artie – Stubs. Kurt – Gelfling. Blaine – Young Burt Reynolds. (I LOVED how Blaine reacted to this… he paused and then a crooked smile appeared on his face like, “Yeah. I can totally work with this nickname.” PRICELESS)

Then, Rachel and Finn were discussing Christmas presents in the hallway. Rachel made Finn a list of stuff she wanted and told him to pick 5 things. She made him the list b/c Kurt told her that Finn and the other Glee guys were in the locker room talking about what Finn should get Rachel and they were leaning toward socks.

Back in the classroom, Rory announced to the group that his mom wasn’t going to be able to come visit him for the holidays because plane tickets are too expensive (preach!). So, he sang “Blue Christmas” and depressed everyone. I did love how he said he was going to honor “The King” and Kurt got this weird look on his face and asked, “Baby Jesus?” to which Blaine shook his head and mouthed “no.” Aw.

After the song, Mr. Schue came in and told the kids that they were going to do a public access Christmas special and that he told the producer that Artie should direct it. Artie balked at first, saying he wouldn’t sell out and do television. But, then Artie saw the light and agreed to do it, so long as it involved the 1978 Star Wars Christmas Special (which, I actually have never seen… which is blasphemous, as I am a huge Star Wars fan :/ ). I liked the Chewie-in-the-classroom clip šŸ™‚ Artie also wanted the special to be shot in Black and White.

Cut to Rachel singing “River” on the stage in the auditorium. I always skip this song when it comes on the CD. It’s pretty… pretty boring. (OH SNAP) But seriously, it’s definitely not one of my favorite holiday songs. I did like her dress, though. And the fake snow. However, I did not like how she was not so subtly suggesting for Finn to get her earrings for Christmas.

Artie told her the song was all wrong. He then shared his image for the show – Blaine and Kurt host a gathering at their chalet. Everyone comes over and sings happy songs, and then Rory reads an uplifting version of Frosty the Snowman. Sam was not happy about this. Not at all. Sam reminded everyone that Christmas isn’t always happy – that it’s about the sad stuff as well as the happy stuff. You know, a time to be thankful for what you do have. (Earlier, Sam and Rory had a great exchange in the hallway about how they miss their families. Sam decides to be Rory’s Christmas sponsor and asks Rory to come have Christmas with Sam and his family. I thought that was really sweet of Sam… especially since he and his family didn’t have much last season when they were homeless and now Sam is extended what they do have out to this other kid in need of a family for the holidays. AWWWWWW) Sam walks out of the auditorium to go ring a bell for the Salvation Army. He asks Rory to come with, but Rory stays and says he should practice his lines. (But Rory… didn’t I just write that you and Sam were practically family? Hmmm… more on this later.)

Later in the choir room, Blaine and Rachel sing “Extraordinary Merry Christmas” to each other to show how fun they can be while performing Christmas songs. This song is pretty lame. I’m sure I’ll like it more later on (Darren’s voice is like buttah and I will cave and love the song… just give me time.). But, it’s cheesy. But, cheesy is what Artie wants – so the Christmas Special is a go. When Sue walked in the choir room to double check that the kids would be at the shelter that Friday, Artie shot her down saying they were filming the special on Friday. WHAT?! You kids should make time for the homeless shelter people. But nooooo… they want their 15 minutes of public access fame šŸ˜¦

The next chunk of show was the black and white Christmas special (YES!).

So, remember how in last year’s Christmas special we only got one scene (albeit a GLORIOUS ONE) of Kurt and Blaine singing “Baby It’s Cold Outside” (go ahead and watch… I’ll wait šŸ™‚ ).

Well, this year’s Christmas Special within the Glee Christmas Special was basically ALL KLAINE, ALL THE TIME.

You couldn’t smack the smile off my face while Kurt and Blaine sang and danced to “Let it Snow“. How freakin’ adorable and retro was that?! Perfection. Utter perfection. Boys can SAAAAAAAANG. Boys can DANCE. Those two are the cutest things on TV and I think they know it.

When the song was over, I dug Kurt’s affected “oh, I’m hosting a TV show with my boyfriend, but since this is retro he’s my best friend/roommate, and I have to talk like this because that’s how you talk when you host an old timey tv show” voice. There needs to be a “Kurt and Blaine host a Christmas special at their chalet” spin off because this was brilliant.

Mercedes and Rachel came over to Blaine and Kurt’s soon thereafter and Rachel was well aware she was on television. The group of them sang “My Favorite Things“. I kinda wished that Blaine was going to play the piano during the song instead of just sit on the piano bench :/ As much as I like this song, I refuse to think of it as a Christmas song. SORRY, BRO.

Also, props to the writers for Blaine’s Christmas presents from Rachel during the Special… a bowtie w/Christmas trees on it and candy-cane stripped capris. PRICELESS.

Then there was some talk about Global Warming and climate change. I loved it when Mercedes deadpanned how it was the End Times. I really haven’t liked her much this season, but this bit was great.

The doorbell rang and who should appear? Finn Hudson and Noah Puckerman dressed up like Luke Skywalker (Finn) and Han Solo (Puck), but not really because the glee kids didn’t have the rights to Star Wars so any likeness to Star Wars was purely coincidental (wink, wink). NGL, but Han Solo Puck was kinda hot… šŸ˜‰

Puck and Finn sang “Santa Claus is Coming To Town” a la Bruce Springsteen. NICE.

When their song was over, who should appear, but Brittany, Santana, the Cheerios, Tina and Mike (dressed as Santa). While twirling those awesome batons w/ribbons like in the Rhythmic Gymnastics, Brittany sang “Christmas Wrapping.” Again, not one of my favorite Christmas songs, but I like Brittany… and those baton things.

After the song, Rory came out and everyone was like, “Yay!” And he was supposed to read the Frosty story and everyone was going to be happy. But, Rory opted to read the same passage that Linus recites in the Charlie Brown Christmas show… and everyone realizes they shouldn’t be there.

Cut to the homeless shelter where Quinn and Sam are serving food. (Good for them, btw. I used to do this when I was younger as part of Girl Scouts. It was one of my favorite things to do around the holidays because it was not only an opportunity to give back in the community, but it was a chance to meet some really amazing people and get to know them and hear their often untold stories.) The Glee kids, Mr. Schue and Emma finally roll in to help out.

The Glee kids sang “Do They Know It’s Christmas?” My mom had a point… was this really an appropriate song to sing in this location?

Regardless, this song is important. Not really w/regard to Glee, but in real life. It was written for Band Aid to raise $ for charity. The money from the Glee version of the song will also go to the Band Aid Trust.

The episode ended with Rachel Berry finally pulling her head out of her ass. Not literally, of course.

She was bugging Finn the whole episode to give her lavish presents. He got her a sow in her name to help feed people in Africa, but she was not initially happy about that. She did eventually get over herself, named the sow “Barbra” and was happy about how her sow would feed people. Finn also got Rachel a star (named Finn Hudson b/c there was already a star named Rachel Berry [ i.e. her] and her Finn star would always be there to look down on her). He also got her earrings.

Rachel then felt bad/got an idea.

Cut to Sam and Rory ringing the Salvation Army bell. Finn and Rachel walk up (and Finn kinda throws a snowball at Sam’s crotch) and donate all the money from Rachel’s earrings and the iPhone she had bought Finn. They then all ring the bell together. AWWWWWWWWWW

So, Matthew Morrison (i.e. Mr. Schue) directed this episode. On a whole, I was not impressed by his directorial choices… especially while Rory was singing “Blue Christmas.” Yikes. I think that Eric Stoltz and Bradley Buecker should direct all the episodes. ALL THE EPISODES.

Glee is now on hiatus until january. They showed a promo. Will is going to propose to Emma. Finn is thinking about joining the army. And it looks like Sam joined the synchronized swim team. And gets slushied b/c of it…

Also coming up on Glee is a big Michael Jackson tribute episode. I am PUMPED. Especially after the great MJ songs used in last week’s Sectionals episode.

Well…

(END SPOILERS)

I have to work tomorrow. And look for jobs. And try to not be sick anymore. (I cannot tell you how many times I’ve sneezed on my computer screen while I’ve typed this out :/ )

Have a good one

