So,

Today was Darren Criss’s finale performance as J. Pierrepont Finch in How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, ending a three week stint on Broadway.

Several of my friends were at this 3:00 matinee. I saw Tweets and blog posts throughout the afternoon (before the show, during intermission, and then after the show was over). I have a bookmarked link to his closing speech that I will watch a little bit later when I’m by myself (i.e. I’m in the living room with my mom watching the Giants/49ers game, and it would be rude to watch a video while she’s reading/the game is on).

I kinda can’t believe it’s over. It seems like forever ago that it was announced he was going to be on Broadway. Then I met my DCST friends (and Darren) in Chicago in August. Then my DCST friends and I spent a few months looking for hotels and planning our NYC adventure. Then all of a sudden it was nearing the end of 2011 and a bunch of us were making our way to the city. And then it was opening night. And we clapped and we cheered. And then I saw the show twice more before I went back to reality in MN. And here we are, a couple weeks later, and he’s back to working on Glee tomorrow.

I can’t even fathom what’s going on in his head right now. My hat is forever off to him – he’s a truly talented individual. I am continually impressed by his abilities and commitment to his performances. Though I would have loved to be in NYC and see his final show, I know I am a lucky girl to have seen him on Broadway at all, let alone opening night and twice more opening week.

While some of my friends were in NYC for the show, another group of my friends seeing the StarKids in WI for MidWinter. I am pumped to learn soon what the new StarKid show is going to be 🙂

I, on the other hand, was here all day. I finished up an application for the NYC Teaching Fellow program. It sounds like an amazing opportunity and I sincerely hope they will consider me for a spot in the program. I’ll keep applying to other jobs as well, but I really, really hope this goes somewhere.

I played some Just Dance 3 and then sang some Glee Karaoke. I just really needed to sing it out after reading the latest chapter of Little Numbers. For those of you who know what this is, your heart probably hurt too. For those of you who don’t know what this is, I’m not telling you what it is because you will judge me 😉

I’m gonna watch some more of the game and read Out of Oz (the 4th book in the Wicked series). I don’t even like the Wicked series (i know, I know…), but I feel obligated to read this book b/c I already read 1-3. Bah.

Well, have a good one

P.S. It was really sad to hear that Joe Paterno died this morning. Both my parents went to Penn State and I grew up rooting for the Nittany Lions even though I lived in Buckeye territory for most of my life. I wonder if all the stress from the sex scandal brought on his illness much faster than it would have under less stressful circumstances. He was a great coach. It’s a shame he passed away amid such turmoil with the team.

