Oscar time is my time. Awards shows are my crack. So, when Oscar nominations came out this morning, I was super excited. And then I saw the list of nominees and here were my initial reactions:

– Buh-what – only 2 songs were nominated for Best Song?! I’m super thankful that “Man or Muppet” was nominated, as that song is FLAWLESS and I sincerely hope that Jason Segel gets to perform it at the Oscar ceremony.

– Where was Ryan Gosling in the Best Actor and/or Best Supporting Actor categories? He gave not one, but THREE solid performances in three solid films this year. His performance in Drive was beyond brilliant. He was able to convey the entire gamut of feelings and emotions with facial expressions and little movements of his eyes. Sure, he had dialogue, but it wasn’t a very wordy part. HE ACTED. And he acted well (as per usual). What about Ides of March? His performance in that was also amazing. You wanted to like him and hate him at the same time. He held his own and managed to shine in a cast of equally talented actors. Hell, he could have gotten nominated for Crazy/Stupid/Love. His performance in that was a tasty combination of charm and smarm. Ugh. How did he get overlooked this season?

– So, there were only 9 Best Picture nominations… How the epic F–K did Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 OR Bridesmaids not fill that 10th slot? Either of those two films was completely deserving of a nod for Best Picture. HP7 Pt 2 was a great film. Forget that it was the final film in the highest grossing film franchise of all time – it was a GREAT film. Well acted. Well produced. Beautifully shot and scored. Good triumphed over evil. ALL WAS WELL. Bridesmaids may not be a perfect film, but it’s smart, it’s got a hell of a lot of heart, and it’s well acted. Yes, it’s a comedy. Yes, it was written by women. Yes, it’s about women. But guess what – it speaks to everyone.

– Yay for the two nominations Bridesmaids *did* get. Kristen Wiig and Annie Mumolo share a Best Original Screenplay nomination and it is WELL DESERVED. I could gush for days about how much this script meant to me not only as a woman, but as a person who genuinely appreciates quality writing. It was by far one of the funniest and smartest scripts of the past year. And yay for Melissa McCarthy! She’s such a brilliant comedic actress and totally deserved her nomination for Best Supporting actress. I think Octavia Spencer is going to win, but it’s still a huge win for comediennes for one of their kind to be recognized by the Academy. (for the record, Octavia Spencer’s performance had epic comedic moments in it too. So, yay for funny ladies!!)

– Two of my favorite films of the year – Drive and J. Edgar – were snubbed in some major categories. Besides Ryan Gosling getting overlooked for Drive, Albert Brooks was denied recognition for his phenomenal supporting work. I don’t even like Albert Brooks very much, but I am the first to admit when an actor I don’t like gives an outstanding performance. And he was outstanding. Like whoa. And poor, poor Leonardo DiCaprio. He was amazing in J. Edgar. I think he didn’t get nominated because of the horrible makeup he was forced to act through in that film. His old man Hoover makeup was beyond distracting. However, when I saw the film, I somehow managed to get past it (and Leo’s contacts) and just attach my attention to that character. His scenes with Armie Hammer were just so heartbreaking. Leonardo DiCaprio is going to be one of those people who will either (1) get nominated a bajillion times and never win, only to accept an Honorary Oscar when he’s 70 OR (2) will win one like Denzel did for Training Day – in a role that’s good, but not as “great” as his Howard Hughes or another amazing role he’ll be sure to have in the future.

– Kung Fu Panda 2 got a Best Animated Feature nom but Tintin didn’t? BUH-WHAT? I can’t even dignify this with a long post… it just doesn’t make sense.

– They need to come up with some sort of special award for Andy Serkis. All to often he gives AMAZING performances that won’t get recognized simply because they are motion-captured and CGIed instead of his actual self appearing on film.

– So many acting snubs… Michael Fassbender, Alan Rickman, Albert Brooks, Ryan Gosling, Leonardo DiCaprio, Kristen Wiig (Lead Actress… yep, I said it), and then some

– I was pumped for the Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy representation!! Yay for Gary Oldman – god, I love that man and his entire canon of films. I was also happy for all the nominations for The Help.

– I really need to see Hugo. Like, a lot. It got 11 nominations and I need to see it.

I’m sure I have a lot more opinions. (Strike that, I know I do.) But, I am tired and I have to get up early to go to work. Once I let my thoughts simmer some more, I’m sure I’ll have some more to share with you over the next couple weeks.

The Oscars are February 26th – mark your calendars.

Also, today is my sister’s 30th birthday 🙂

Have a good one

