So, I promised some gushing about The Artist.

IT WAS AMAZING.

And I’m not just saying this because the critics loved it and it’s very likely that it’s going to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards tomorrow night.

The Artist was amazing because it was a solid film… excellent cast, gorgeous cinematography, beautiful costumes, great music, and it had the most adorable dog everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

The Artist both celebrated and exposed everything that’s wonderful and horrible about film/the film industry. It showed how films and their stars bring people together (I loved the scenes of the groups of well-dressed cinema patrons clapping and cheering for the silent films *they* were watching), but it also portrayed the film industry as an entity that was quick to sweep aside the silent films/film actors to make way for talkies and a younger group of talent. Now, that is a bit of an exaggeration, but it was a very effective plot point in the film.

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED that The Artist was a (mostly) silent film, shot in black and white, AND was still completely riveting and waaaaaaaaaaay more entertaining than a lot of other films I’ve seen in recent history. No explosions were needed to drive the plot. Hell, pretty much no dialogue was needed to drive the plot either. Yes, there were some title cards throughout, but on a whole, The Artist was able to convey its story through superb acting and great music.

Also, I’m pretty sure Jean Dujardin is magical.

If he doesn’t win the Best Actor Oscar tomorrow I will eat my Yoda hat.

Dujardin reminds me of Gene Kelly, with his athletic dancing and his overall manliness/sex appeal. He oozed charm, but at the same time had epically beautiful moments of vulnerability. I couldn’t take my eyes off of him the whole time he was on screen (which, thankfully, was most of the film).

If you appreciate great films with solid stories and quality acting, see this if/when you can.

Besides The Artist, I watched 5 other films in the past 3 days. I’ve been sick, so I have taken up residence on the living room couch. Thursday night I watched Miss Potter (great film, but you’ll likely need tissues). Friday I watched I ❤ Huckabees and Star Trek (two of the best ensemble casts of the last decade) and then today i rewatched On the Waterfront and Bonnie & Clyde (evidently my Ode to the Oscars was all about overtly violent Academy Award nominated/winning films starring ridiculously handsome men…). I was hoping to watch Giant or Lawrence of Arabia tomorrow, but their both super long movies and I might not have the time :/

I really wish I had cable… tomorrow during the Oscar pre-show on E!, Darren Criss is singing “The Rainbow Connection” with Kermit the Frog. Darren’s cover of The Rainbow Connection is one of my favorite covers of his and now he actually gets to sing it WITH Kermit. How awesome is that?!

Alas…

I’m pumped for the Oscars tomorrow. I still have to write down my predictions with my sister. That’ll be my job tomorrow morning…

… for now, I must sleep.

Have a good one

