I was an 80s kid, but I loved me some Davy Jones thanks to reruns and record players…

I was super shocked this morning when I went online and saw that Davy Jones passed away from a heart attack at age 66. My mouth literally dropped open and I couldn’t breathe for a few seconds.

I may not have been born during the height of The Monkees, but those reruns were on everyday when I was little and I grew up on their music. I watched their show. I sang their songs. Hell, my earliest dream I can remember is The Monkees were playing a set on our front lawn (and chocolate chip cookies grew on pine trees instead of pine cones… I was 3 or 4 years old).

My heart broke a little bit more today. I may not have swooned over Davy Jones, but his presence on my television and over the speakers of my record player/CD player/iPod doc was a constant in my life. I’ll still be able to watch the show. I’ll still be able to listen to his music. But knowing *he’s* not here anymore just makes all the difference :/

So, in honor of the late, great Davy Jones, here are just a few of my favorite Monkees songs…

(In no particular order)

*sigh*

Have a good one

