Hola,

I hate politics, but sometimes I feel I need to express my opinions about “political” issues. This entire post is going to be one, big political rant… you have been warned.

SO…

I watched “8” today.

If you don’t know what 8 is, it’s a play written by Academy Award winner Dustin Lance Black based off the transcripts of the closing arguments of the trial of Perry v. Schwarzenegger from 2010. The play was originally staged in September 2011, but was performed and streamed on YouTube on Saturday night with an all-star cast including George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Martin Sheen, Kevin Bacon, Jane Lynch, Jamie Lee Curtis, Matt Bomer, Jesse Tyler Ferguson, and many other talented performers.

I watched the play in one fell swoop… I literally sat in a recliner for 2 hours with my dog on my lap and I watched the play. My mom was in the room too, and at various points in the play, I would ask her some questions and voice some opinions about what was going on on screen.

I feel I should state here that (1) I am very much in favor of gay marriage and thought Prop 8 was a crime against humanity and (2) I am straight, but feel I have valid opinions about gay marriage and civil rights equality because I strongly believe in equal rights for everyone, regardless of race, sexual orientation, religion, other character traits.

So, back to 8.

What an AMAZING piece of work. Dustin Lance Black’s play was really powerful, and the cast really brought it. I have so much respect for all of the talented people involved with the play, as well as the real people whose lives were the inspiration for 8.

Prop 8 was recently deemed Unconstitutional in the State of California, and rightly so.

What I still don’t understand is how Prop 8 came to be in the first place…

(Here comes some strong opinions… you’ve been warned again.)

I cannot, for the life of me, understand how people have a problem with gay marriage.

I get that there are people with very strong religious views who are opposed to gay marriage. While I do not agree with their views, I respect that they have the freedom to have their own points of view… but what I don’t understand is how religious views still work their way into political platforms and issues.

I mean, correct me if I’m wrong, but there still is a Separation of Church and State. Right?

And though I understand that peoples religious viewpoints will have an affect on their political viewpoints, I don’t think it’s right for peoples religious viewpoints to completely drive their political agenda when the end result is that a group of people get discriminated against because they don’t share the same religious viewpoints/political agenda.

I was poking around online tonight and found the following lines from the Bible:

Leviticus 19:18 Thou shalt not avenge, nor bear any grudge against the children of thy people, but thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself: I am the LORD.

“Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself”

LOVE THY NEIGHBOR

Now, it doesn’t say “love thy neighbor, but only if they share the same religion or sexual preference as yourself”. It says “love thy neighbor,” as in “love your neighbor regardless… just, like, love your neighbor, man.”

You shouldn’t get to pick and choose what neighbor you love… it’s a very blanket statement. And while I don’t believe that the Bible is a black and white document, I do agree with this message to love your neighbor as you would yourself. That’s just common sense, and I totally support common sense.

So, this brings me back to questioning how Prop 8 even came about to begin with. If we’re supposed to “love thy neighbor,” then how does a proposition about not allowing gay people to get married even exist?

Why can’t gay people get married? Or, more importantly, why shouldn’t they be able to get married?

Are two men or two women who love each other very much and want to legalize that love with marriage hurting anyone? NO. Two men or two women who love each other and want to get married is not a concept or a reality that places anyone in the path of physical, mental or emotional harm. If anything, prohibiting two men or two women who love each other from marrying does actual harm. Prohibiting two men or two women who love each other from marrying each other tells those men and women that they are not first class citizens. Denying LGBTQ people the right to marry their loved ones is a crime against humanity.

I take it for granted that I can marry whatever guy I want to. If I were in Vegas right now, and I met a guy, we could literally go to whatever chapel and get married to each other within the hour. No questions asked. But, my friend who has been with his partner for 17+ years cannot marry him because they live in a state where gay marriage is illegal. How is this fair?

It’s not.

What watching 8 did for me today was just solidify my beliefs that LGBTQ people should have the right to marry their partners because they are citizens of this country, marriage is a right that all citizens should have, and LGBTQ people marrying other LGBTQ people is not a threat to society nor a threat to heterosexual marriages.

I found it frustrating to the point I was in hysterical laughter at parts in the play when the judge was asking Kevin Bacon’s character about marriage’s role in society. There was dialogue about how marriage’s purpose in society was to aide in procreation and how procreation is between a man and a woman, and that in order for homosexuals to procreate, they needed assistance from an outside third party. The judge made an excellent point about how some heterosexual married couples opt to not have kids and how some heterosexual married couples have fertility problems and therefore also need an outside third party to help them have kids.

I was furious to the point where I felt tears welling up behind my eyes at the scene where the two boys were questioning their mothers about how the one lawyer (Kevin Bacon’s character) was saying that children born into or adopted into households with gay parents weren’t legitimate children because they were not of a one man/one woman household.

In all honesty, don’t you think that with all the hoops and paperwork a gay couple would have to go through in order to legally adopt a child, they would more likely be amazing parents simply because they took that much time and effort to bring a child into their home? To me, if you devote that much time and energy into a child you don’t even have in your home yet, you are in it to win it as parents? The same goes for gay marriage… if you are fighting that hard for the right to get married in the first place, don’t you think that that couple is in that relationship for the long haul?

If marriage is so sacred to straight people, then why are some of them so flippant about it?

FACT – Republican presidential hopeful Newt Gingrich is on his third marriage. His first two ended because he was unfaithful and his second wife said he wanted an open marriage.

FACT – Conservative radio talk show host Rush Limbaugh is on his fourth marriage. His first three marriages all ended in divorce.

I could go on, but I’m getting physically ill reading up about these politicians and their multiple weddings when I know of more than a fair few homosexual couples that have been in solid, MONOGAMOUS relationships for years (decades, even) who can’t get married because their state’s governments are haters.

I should probably stop typing now. I have so much more to say (I didn’t even touch on all the stuff that’s been going on regarding women’s health in the news lately… I saw some old, male politicians talking about the Pill and other forms of contraception and birth control the other morning… NOBODY should be able to tell me what I can and cannot do to my body with regard to my health, especially a government chock-full of old, white men. I bet a majority of those men don’t have any idea the amount of crap women have to go through every month with regard to menstruation. And it’s not like it’s a one time thing… it’s a week-long endeavor every month for DECADES. Men don’t have to worry about getting pregnant. Men don’t have to worry about menstrual cycles and cramps and bleeding and feminine hygiene products. Men don’t have to deal with growing and carrying a child inside of their bodies for 9 months, only to push it out of their nether regions after perhaps hours of intensive labor. DON’T GET ME STARTED, MEN. DON’T GET ME STARTED.)

But, I digress…

I know this wasn’t the most eloquent post ever, but it just makes me so upset when people are so against something that really should be embraced as a beautiful thing. Love and marriage are a happy thing (for the most part… right?). Why would people in this country want to deny their fellow citizens this basic right? If you don’t support gay marriage, then don’t marry a gay person. See – your problem is solved.

I support gay marriage. I support gay rights. I support marriage. I support rights.

EQUALITY FOR ALL!!!!!!!!!!!

(it’s the right thing to do…)

Have a good one

