And wow… that was one of the worst, most ineloquent titles yet.

Yikes.

Sorry I haven’t posted much. I was sick, then I was super busy/tired from work, then I got hooked on a television show on Netflix (more on that later), then I had to finish reading a book. So, blogging didn’t quite fit in too much this past week.

Again, I apologize.

So, how are you?

Good… good.

I’m all right. I worked 4 long days in a row and finally had a day off today, which I spent at the movie theater (more on that later), doing laundry and playing ping-pong w/my mom. It’s freakishly warm here right now, so we wanted to spend part of the day outside… instead of doing chores (for example, I was supposed to be packing, as I am going to a friend’s place this weekend… I got 5 pieces of clothing out thus far. Will need to finish this tomorrow night or Thursday morning. Whoops…)

So, besides job hunting like crazy

(OH, news flash, I didn’t get the thing that I interviewed for a few weeks ago in NYC 😦 I was super bummed about that and cried for a little while. I couldn’t help it… I thought I had a chance. And it turns out I didn’t. Sadness.)

… where was I? OH, so besides job hunting like crazy, I accidentally but kind of on purpose got addicted to the show “White Collar” because (1) it stars Matt Bomer, who will be guesting on Glee when the show comes back in April and (2) its first two seasons are on Netflix instant stream and I like being able to watch episodes back to back so as to keep up with a set of characters for an extended period of time.

Needless to say, I got hooked (well, my mom and I got hooked) and HOW. We are desperate to watch Season 3, but it only just finished a few weeks ago and is not on Netflix yet. We need Season 3 like we need air at this point.

That show is soooooo good. Yes, Matt Bomer is ridiculously attractive (it’s those eyes, man… and he obviously exercises…), but my most favorite thing about this show is that it focuses on the relationship between a convicted felon-turned FBI consultant (Bomer) and the FBI agent who caught him twice … but they now work together to solve crimes and have ended up becoming good friends even though at times they don’t entirely trust each other. So, this show focuses on a working/friend relationship between a lawman and a criminal instead of having everybody sleep around and hook-up with everyone else like practically every other show on television. Plus, this show is actually really funny. It’s a drama, but there is a lot of humor and the various working relationships within the show all have their own quirky dynamic. I love this show. LOVE IT. And I need Season 3 right now… RIGHT NOW.

omg, this show is so good.

But anyway…

I had off today, so I went to the movie theater (movie theaters and Broadway theaters are my sanctuaries… They are my safe places. I feel content and warm and fuzzy when I am in one of these places. Even though sometimes the movie or show I am watching makes me so excited I feel sick to my stomach *cough* When I saw Mandy Patinkin sing “Oh What a Circus” *cough* I still feel really protected and free from the outside world when I am in a movie theater or Broadway theater).

I saw “Friends With Kids” because I am a huge fan of most of the cast (I say “most” of the cast because I am ambivalent about Megan Fox…). I was beyond thrilled when I heard about this movie awhile ago because I love Adam Scott and was pumped to see him in a lead role instead of a supporting one. (If you don’t know who Adam Scott is, you have done yourself a disservice. Go watch “Party Down” or Seasons 3 & 4 of “Parks and Recreation.” NOW.)

The movie was written, directed and co-stars Jennifer Westfeldt. (Most people know her as Jon Hamm’s girlfriend… whereas I am well aware from her from her roles in “50 Ways to Leave Your Lover” and “Ira & Abby,” which she also wrote). It’s about a pair of friends who mutually decide to have a kid together and raise it out of wedlock so they don’t have to deal with the marriage aspect of a relationship (and instead they would co-raise the kid, but still get to date around so they could each “find their person”). Needless to say, things don’t entirely work out as planned, but after some ups and downs, there is resolution. I won’t spoil it for you, but I thought this was a pretty good movie and worth the watch.

This movie wasn’t perfect. I curse like a sailor and even I thought some of the dialogue was overtly and unnecessarily crass at times. But, I could overlook this because of the AMAZING performances turned in by Scott, Westfeldt, Jon Hamm, Kristen Wiig, Maya Rudolph and Chris O’Dowd (yes… basically all the main characters from Bridesmaids were in this film… though those 4 were all supporting roles in this film).

I don’t cry at movies (3 folks, THREE), but I almost teared up twice during two of Adam Scott’s monologues. The man knows how to deliver powerful, yet completely vulnerable speeches.

This movie hit home several times and I left the theater thinking about time. Mind you, I’m 10 years younger than the characters in the movie, but it still got me thinking about time and how it’s always winding down.

I don’t know if I want to have kids. It used to be a hard “No,” but I just don’t know anymore. I’m constantly surrounded by a parade of couples and couples with kids where I work and the other day, I was *this close* to having a panic attack because for some reason, I thought to myself “Man, if I am going to have a kid, I should have one soon so in 18 years I’ll still be young-ish enough to help him/her move into his/her dorm room.”

And then I remembered that (A) I am in no financial state to be having a kid, (B) I am not ready to have a kid and (C) there is no way I am having a kid until I figure out my own life first.

Plus, I’m not raising a kid my myself. (i.e. I’m single. This fact gets rubbed in my face by society and my job every single [ha] day and sometimes that really hurts.)

Anyway…

… Time.

Speaking of… I think it’s “time” I get to reading my book. I finally finished “Out of Oz” and now I’m trying to fly through “The Help” so I can get to the last two books in The Hunger Games series. WOOT

Have a good one

P.S. On a slightly funny note… as I was standing in line to buy my ticket at the movie theater, I looked up at the mural of film characters above me on the wall and realized that (1) I was standing underneath Marlon Brando circa “The Wild One” and (2) I was wearing the EXACT SAME OUTFIT with the exception that I didn’t have a hat and instead of a leather coat, I had on an olive green trench coat. But I had on the same shirt, skinny jeans with the cuffs rolled up, and black shoes. I totally walked out of the house this morning looking like I was a member in a 50s youth gang without realizing it… whoops.

