So…

I’m still kinda sick. I had to call off from work yesterday because I was still getting over my fever and I have a runny nose, sore throat and funky/swollen tonsils. By now, the fever is completely gone, but I’m still blowing my nose every couple minutes, my tonsils are still super lumpy and I haven’t eaten much in the last 3 days.

I do plan on going to work tomorrow, though. It’s a huge day and they were making sure everyone was going to be in, so I’ll just have to suck it up and go in LIKE A BOSS. I’ll just need to line my pockets with tissues and make sure I stay hydrated. There isn’t really anything I can do to make myself feel better. I’ve had tonsil problems since I was little… my tonsils are ginormous and they used to rub together in one, giant blob in the back of my throat. They have since separated (thanks to the widening of my mouth due to an expander I was painfully forced to wear in high school to correct my bite… my top teeth used to rest *inside* of my bottom teeth instead of outside of them… yeah. ouch.), but are still abnormally large. They get irritated more often than they should and sometimes get lumps all over them. It’ll go away soonish… it’s just a little uncomfortable, especially on top of the sore throat and runny nose.

But, seriously. I’m okay. I’m very used to all this by now.

So… (part deux)

It’s Tuesday. I wish it were Glee Tuesday, but we still have to wait one more week.

However, the people at Glee/Fox were kind (mean?) enough to release the full performance of one of the songs.

(SPOILERS FOR GLEE S3 EPISODE 15 – “Big Brother”)

In this episode, we meet Cooper Anderson – Blaine’s older brother (by 10 years). This places Cooper to be around 27 or 28 years of age and sets us up for some potentially angsty/unrequited sibling rivalry… at least that’s what it looks like from the video clip we got of one of their duets – “Somebody That I Used to Know”.

I’ll give you a minute to process that.

Powerful stuff, right?

Now, I have somehow managed to never hear the original version of this song before, as performed by Gotye featuring Kimbra. I’m more than okay with this. From what I gather, it’s a song about people who used to be in a romantic/intimate relationship. That is obviously not the same context for the Glee version (on Glee, it’s a set of brothers who have grown apart), but I like how the same words can be used to express two completely different kinds of relationships.

In the Glee version, Blaine seems to be singing about how he grew apart from his brother and how his brother once cherished their relationship (“so happy I could die”), but then screwed his brother over and grew estranged (the lyrics about changing numbers and packing records, etc…). Cooper later sings these same lyrics at his brother, so it kinda makes you wonder if one of the boys is more at fault than the other, or if the estrangement was mutual, albeit truly undesired by either Anderson Brother.

Since we have never heard anything about Cooper Anderson before, one can only speculate about his upbringing and relationship with his little brother, Blaine. Ten years is a huge age gap when you’re younger… I mean, I’m only two years apart from either of my siblings and at times that seemed like ages. So, 10 years is a big age gap, and it could be big enough for Cooper not to realize how his little brother felt throughout various times of their upbringing. You also have to figure he’s probably been gone for a lot of Blaine’s teenage years, so he may have missed out on a lot of important things… like when Blaine came out, or when Blaine got beat up after the Sadie Hawkins dance, etc…

I obviously have way too much time on my hands to think about these characters and this show. But, I’m invested in the show – I’m very invested in Blaine (since Darren Criss is one of my favorite performers), and now I’m invested in Cooper (Matt Bomer, how I love you so on White Collar… damn).

Plus, Glee hasn’t been on in, like, 7 weeks. This hiatus has given myself and other Glee fans waaaaay to much time to speculate.

I’m legit interested in Blaine and Cooper’s relationship not only because I love the two actors playing these parts, but because neither Blaine nor Cooper were originally part of this show. Blaine was only introduced last season and has since risen to one of the main(ish) characters of the show. I’m very interested in his back story since it has changed soooooo much over the course of a season and half. (Like, remember when he was introduced in Season 2 Episode 6 “Never Been Kissed” as an older, confident mentor to Kurt… only to question his own sexuality 8 episodes later… only to be revealed as a year younger than Kurt during Season 3 Episode 2? Yeah… Blaine’s been all over the map thus far… it’ll be nice to get some back story, especially back story that has nothing to do with his relationship with Kurt. I’m all for individual character plot lines, and not just ones that deal with significant others.)

Plus, I really just want to know what leads up to this scene because I want to know what causes Blaine to express that amount of emotions in 2 minutes and 44 seconds. This isn’t just a one-off thing… this kid obviously has had some pent-up issues with his brother that he needs to get off his chest via song.

The amount of feeling and emotion that both Darren Criss and Matt Bomer put into this song is ridiculous and deserves the most epic of slow claps. They are both super talented actors and performers and their commitment to this song and ability to showcases everything they’re feeling on their faces and in their body language like that is really powerful and special. My heart can’t help but to break when I watch this video clip… the amount of hurt going on between those two is crazy.

Watching this video actually reminded me a lot of the song “Being Alive” from Company. The comparison was there for me because of the repeated use of the word “somebody.”

Though I haven’t heard the Gotye version of the song, I’m assuming that the word “somebody” in the phrase “somebody that I used to know” can be interpreted both as “somebody” *and* “some body”.

Think about that for a second…

“Somebody” you used to know could be a person… any person. But, “some body” you used to know… to me, that implies a more intimate action.

In the Glee version of this song, I take the song to be interpreted as “somebody” even though toward the end of the song, they emphasize the latter half of the word.

In Company, there’s an exchange of dialogue between the main character, Robert, and his friend Amy that ends with “you need to marry somebody, not someBODY.” Then, later during “Being Alive,” Amy interjects again…

AMY: Blow out the candles, Robert, and make a wish. *Want* something!
Want *something*!

And then Robert continues to sing…

ROBERT:
Somebody, hold me too close,
Somebody, hurt me too deep,
Somebody, sit in my chair
And ruin my sleep
And make me aware
Of being alive,
Being alive.

Somebody, need me too much,
Somebody, know me too well,
Somebody, pull me up short
And put me through hell
And give me support
For being alive,
Make me alive.

Make me confused,
Mock me with praise,
Let me be used,
Vary my days.
But alone is alone, not alive.

Somebody, crowd me with love,
Somebody, force me to care,
Somebody, make me come through,
I’ll always be there,
As frightened as you,
To help us survive
Being alive,
Being alive,
Being alive!

Again.. powerful stuff, right?

(side note – I saw the revival of Company on Broadway and actually cried when Raul Esparza sang “Being Alive.” From the moment he lets out that guttural, primal yell right through the end of that song, there were just silent tears streaming down my face. It was such a powerful, private moment and I couldn’t help but cry. It’s still really hard for me to watch that scene… it’s just so moving :/ )

Well… I’m going to get going. Now that I’m feeling all the feelings.

Have a good one.

