So… today in my epic quest to find an apartment in NYC, I had not one, not two, but THREE blasts from the past. As in, grade-school past.

I FB messaged all of the people I know who live in NYC. And to be honest, most of these people I haven’t spoken to in years. BUT, since I am in serious need of help apartment hunting, I figure it was better to contact everyone I knew. What’s the worse that could happen? (Answer – someone wouldn’t answer.)

And guess what – some people didn’t answer. That’s to be expected…

HOWEVER, two of the people I heard from were guys I went to high school with (actually, one of the guys I went to elementary, middle and high school with). I hadn’t spoken to either of them in over ten years. But, one of them works in real estate and said he could help with my apartment search (I already emailed him back). The other guy called me and gave me the contact information with a girl we went to high school with because SHE is moving to NYC too. I spent a good few minutes racking my brain… like, I remembered her name and kind of remembered who she was. I called her up and was like “Hey, so-and-so gave me your phone number. We totally went to high school together and are both trying to move to New York. Crazy!” We talked for, like, 15 minutes and are legit going to look for a place together. Even if we don’t find a place together, though, it sounds like we will be making an effort to hang out. It’ll be so nice knowing someone else in the area… and reconnecting with someone from high school! (btw – I found my senior yearbook after our phone conversation. As soon as I saw her picture, everything clicked. Crazy times.)

I was really touched that people I haven’t spoken to in forever totally reached out to help when I sent out that message this morning. I can’t help but smile. See – social media isn’t entirely evil.

What else, what else?

I applied for an awesome job today. It would be pretty much the greatest job of all time and I think I would be perfect for the position. My fingers are epically crossed that the powers that be think this way too.

I still don’t have an ending for my script. I let a couple people read it and so far have only gotten in-depth feedback from one brave soul (thanks, Robin!!!!!). I know there is a bunch of stuff I have to go back and edit. I thought I had a decent start, though. I’m still proud of myself for writing 120 pages of stuff… that’s a lot for me 🙂 I’m not pleased with the grammar mistakes I seem to have made. Oh, homophones… why you gotta suck so much? But, at least my biggest writing problem only happens when I hand-write out stuff. Somehow, when I’m writing, I mix up my lowercase p and b… and sometimes d. Not all the time… but enough to make me a bit frustrated. I’ll have to Google that to see if it’s a real thing or if it’s just me.

*Googles “mix up lowercase p and b*

So… after some Googling, I can self-diagnose and say that I probably have a form of dysgraphia. Wikipedia says, “The word dysgraphia comes from the Greek words dys meaning “impaired” and graphia meaning “making letter forms by hand”.

Awesome.

It makes sense, though. With the exception that I am an awesome speller (2nd best speller in the 5th grade, yo), a lot of the other symptoms (if you will) fit. My grammar skills are probably not as awesome as they could be. I have difficulties with the letters p, b and d (only lowercase…). And I also write the wrong word/s when I am formulating my thoughts on paper.

Up through probably my junior or senior year of undergrad, I would actually hand-write out all of my papers (yes, even the 20 page papers…). There was a lot of times when I would start writing one word, but end up putting the wrong ending on it (like, combining two words together), or I would have weird looking p, b and d’s all over the place.

Of the three types of dysgraphia listed on Wikipedia, I don’t really identify with any of them. I mean, I would lean toward Motor Dysgraphia, but I am a great typer. Like, 70 WPM… So, that can’t be it. I’m not dyslexic, though… then do I lean toward spatial dysgraphia the most? Hmmm…

Who knows?

Anyway… whether I have this dysgraphia or not is not going to slow me down. How often to we hand-write out stuff these days anyway?

Exactly.

So… I’m going to go read for a couple minutes and then sleep. I only got about 4 hours of sleep last night, so my eyelids are heavy and hurt.

Have a good one!

