I love Bruno Mars, but I have a whole new respect for this kid after last night’s SNL.

The Pandora sketch where he sang a bunch of songs by a bunch of artists was great. At one point, I wondered if he was given a list beforehand… he totes lost it when they brought up Louis Armstrong, but then managed to compose himself after a few giggles and got back on track.

My FAVORITE sketch was, of course, the Merryville Brothers.

This is my favorite recurring bit (and by “recurring,” I think this was only the third time it was done). I was highly impressed by Bruno Mars’s ability to be an animatronic person. Tarran Killam and Bill Hader are always great at this, by Mars was completely on par with the seasoned pros.

My biggest gripe of the episode was the appearance by Tom Hanks. Ugh.

But, the Brad Pitt Chanel ads and Weekend Update were great, as was the cold open and monologue. Plus, Bruno Mars made a really pretty girl in that talk show sketch…

All in all, I thought this was the strongest episode of the season. Mars was on par with JGL’s commitment to each sketch and it was nice to see that they wrote to his strengths.

Have a good one 🙂

