It’s not that I’m anti-reunion. But, it’s being held the day after Thanksgiving and I will be in Minnesota with my family (as opposed to Ohio where the reunion is taking place.)

Am I sad I’m going to miss the reunion?

In a word, No.

I don’t keep in contact (except Facebook) with a majority of the people I knew in high school. In fact, nowadays, I really only keep in contact with one person from high school and that’s because we both live in NYC. Before a couple months ago, we actually hadn’t spoken in about 10 years. But, now we’ve seen each other a few times and intend to hang out more in the future.

I would rather spend the day after Thanksgiving with my family than with people I went to high school with. It’s not that I don’t want to see these people, but I feel that Facebook has kept me abreast of what is going on in most of these people’s lives. I had friends in high school, but I wasn’t friends with everyone (nor did everyone make an effort to be my friend). Who thinks that after 10 years of little/no contact that things would be somehow different?

Plus – there’s always the awkward “So, what are you doing?” question. I’m not married. I don’t have any kids. I don’t even have a steady job. It’s almost a struggle to pay my bills each month.

But, I do have two college degrees. I am a published writer. I did just move to NYC a few months ago. I do have two internships with film producers. I did just work on the opening of a Broadway show this week. I did get a kiss on the cheek from The Fonz himself (yes, THE Henry Winkler) on Wednesday.

I’m not doing great, but I’m also not doing half bad either.

Are there people I want to see? Yes, of course. There are people I wish I would have stayed in better contact with. There are guys I used to have crushes on that it would be fun to see what they’re up to 10 years later.

Are there people who want to see me? Probably not.

Do I want people to want to see me? Selfishly, yes. I’ve lost weight since high school and my boobs got bigger. I fit into a smaller dress now than I did at prom and I know how to wear tall shoes (which make my legs look extra awesome). I have a better sense/grasp of fashion. I’m definitely more confident and I have a lot of fun/random/crazy stories from various adventures over the year.

But would I trade precious time with my family for a class reunion a 1/3 of the country away?

HELL TO THE NO.

I love my family and while I’m proud of myself for moving to the East Coast all by myself, I miss them like crazy. And there is no way I would miss hanging out with them for the world.

On Friday when my former classmates are at the reunion, I’ll be in sweatpants and a hoodie, dancing around my parents living room playing Just Dance 4 and drinking a beer.

So, here’s to you, FHS Class of ’02. Way to stay in the A-K… but I’m going to live my life outside of the sanctuary of Ohio where you and most of your families still reside.

