If you’re on Facebook at all (or all day, like me…), you might have noticed that a lot of people have changed their profile pictures or have posted what looks like white or pink equal sign (=) on a red background.

People are doing this because today, the Supreme Court started hearings regarding the Constitutionality of Proposition 8 (the California proposition – and later amendment – that only recognizes marriage between a man and a woman) and the Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA – a federal law from the 90s that defines marriage as a legal union between one man and one woman, and this deals with a lot of benefits/legal-related issues).

In my humble opinion, both entities are the byproducts of scared people. Same-sex couples who wish to marry aren’t out to get anyone – they’re not trying to ruin the sanctity of marriage. Straight people have been ruining that for years… what with all the divorces and the quickie weddings that last a few days or months. To me, if same-sex couples are willing to fight so hard for so long just to be legally wed to their significant others, they aren’t going to ruin anything… instead they’re just trying to celebrate their love in a binding, government-recognized way.

I’m proud to say that a majority of my Facebook friends have changed their profile pictures or have shared HRC pictures and stories today. I changed my picture this morning, shared some pictures and have had the HRC tweets popping up on my phone all day long.

I’m not a member of the LGBTQ community, but I will fight for them just the same. I have a friend who has been with his partner for 17+ years and I know they’d like to get married in their state and have that marriage be recognized by everyone. There are people from my graduating class from high school who have come out over the past decade and I would love to see them marry the people they love. 

What are people so scared of?

That’s not even a rhetorical question… What are people so scared of?

So what if a man wants to marry another man? How does that hurt you? How does that hurt marriage between a man and a woman? How does two people who LOVE each other getting married hurt anyone?

I read some article saying the the Supreme Court justices are hesitant now – that they feared they have taken this case on too soon. When 58% of the country is for gay marriage and prominent political figures have announced that they support gay marriage, don’t you think the time is now? 

Equal rights and the legalization of same-sex marriage WILL happen during  my lifetime. If our government doesn’t get its head out of its ass now, then my generation will when it’s our time to run this place. We will right the wrongs of the past. Together, we can make a difference. 

Let’s fight for love 🙂 

