Hello,

I realize I’ve been MIA on here for a bit. A LOT of stuff has been going down these past couple weeks and most of my “free” time (which is a lot these days, as I’ll explain in a bit) has been used writing cover letters and working on a writing project.

So… to start things off, I guess I should inform you that I was let go from my job a couple weeks ago.

I never specified what my job was or where I worked because who knows what people stumble upon on Google these days, but I did post how I was treated disrespectfully by some of my colleagues and other people who I worked around.

I was supposedly let go because the company I worked for wasn’t able to maintain a proper budget. I don’t know how entirely accurate that information was, but at the very least at least I was “let go” as opposed to “fired.”

Fired sounds like *I* did something wrong. I didn’t though. I made sure to ask on my way out…

My way out was one of the lowest points in my professional life. My manager and another person who was higher on the food chain than I walked into my office about a half hour before the end of my shift on a Friday. My manager said, “Whelp, I have some bad news.” Of course, then my office phone rang, so I excused myself and answered it like I was supposed to since I was at work. After hanging up, my manager said, in what seemed like an almost jovial tone, “We’re letting you go. Today is your last day.”

BAM.

No preface, no notice. I actually kind of saw it coming, but the way he said it really upset me because his tone was just so… light.

Truth be told, I’m sure it was a blessing in disguise that I was let go. I was not happy there because of the sexual harassment, the near physical assault, and the constant verbal harassment by one of the other women who worked on my floor. (I told you this, right? She screamed at me on a weekly basis – at one point slapping her hand against my window and yelling that I don’t know how to do my job.) It was not a company I saw a future with because there was no room for growth.

I have been applying for new jobs like a mad fiend over the past couple weeks. That in itself is a lot of work, and I would like to never write another cover letter in my entire life if I could help it. But, I still don’t have a job, so I will continue to write.

I had an interview a couple weeks ago at one of my favorite companies known to mankind. I knew I was likely not going to get the job, but it was still a real honor to even be asked to interview. The man who interviewed me was literally the nicest person on the face of the planet and I walked out of the interview feeling great (even though I knew it was more than a long shot that I would get the job… I got my rejection email the other day).

If we’re being honest here, I’m feeling a little lost. (Well, a lot lost.) I’m almost ay my one year anniversary of living in NYC and I’m jobless with no prospects. I have enough money saved up that I can float a few months… I really want to earn a job that could turn into a career. I have two college degrees, YEARS of office and other experience, and feel that I deserve to work somewhere where I won’t get harassed or screamed at on a weekly basis.

My spirits were super low the week following the loss of my job, so I called my parents to see if I could go visit them for a few days. I did just see them last month for a week while I was in Florida/the Bahamas for my sister’s wedding, but I hadn’t been back to Minnesota to see my dog since Thanksgiving. You know how snuggling your pet makes you feel better? I needed that so bad… so I went to MN for four days and snuggled the heck out of my dog. (My parents even brought her to the airport when they picked me up and my dog gave me a bunch of kisses and then curled up on my feet. I needed that so bad.)

Those four days were heaven. I snuggled my dog, I played ping pong and yahtzee with my mom, and I watched movies with my dad. It was really relaxing. Even though none of my life problems got solved, I could at least have a hug when I wanted one. (Man, I wish I could have one right now… at least I have a half-full tissue box!)

I actually didn’t want to come back to New York. I mean, I did because I love it here, but for a fraction of a second, it just felt easier to call it quits and crawl into a hole somewhere. As much as my parents lecture me that I’m not a failure, it’s increasingly harder not to think of myself that way. Hopefully this feeling is only temporary and I’ll make my way back up from this low point that I’ve seemed to hit.

Selfishly, the worst part about not having a job right now is that I can’t even go see any Broadway shows to make myself feel better! (First world problems, I know.) Luckily, I had already bought tickets to the NKOTB concert, Darren Criss’s NYC concert and the upcoming production of The Cradle Will Rock. I’ve been to two of those events… the Darren concert will get its own post, but let me tell you about NKOTB… oh my goodness.

So, I went by myself to The Package Tour. Tickets were $5 on StubHub and I was not about to miss the epicness of Boyz II Men, 98 Degrees and New Kids on the Block.

Seeing Boyz II Men live and in person was one of the greatest concert experiences ever. They are soooo gooooooood. Like, I’ve had a crush on Shawn Stockman for awhile now (bless you, The Sing Off), but getting to hear him from a few hundred feet away, harmonizing with the rest of the group was just… amazing.

98 Degrees was less amazing. I was never a huge fan of theirs, but I knew their old stuff. (Not impressed with their new stuff… seriously, I’m getting sick of hearing boy bands in their 40s singing about sexy ladies… it’s patronizing.) But, it was still fun seeing them in person because I never had before. I admit to smiling and singing along… “You’re my sunshine after the rain… you’re the cure against my fear and my pain… ‘cuz i’m losing my mind, when you’re not around, it’s all… it’s all because of you”

And then there were the New Kids on the Block.

OH MY GOODNESS

So, I saw the NKOTBSB concert a couple years ago with my sister and it was one of – if not the – greatest concerts I’ve ever been to in my entire life.

New Kids on the Block does not disappoint. They did, like, a two hour set of their old stuff and newer stuff and it was all just so great. I’ve been a fan of these guys for the last 25 years and it’s just a really hoot that they are still around and doing what they do – and doing it well. They are great performers and talented vocalists and five part harmony will always make me a little weak in the knees.

Seeing NKOTB was just really, really fun. And it was great seeing them by myself. I had never been to the Barclay’s Center, but it was really empowering going to Brooklyn on my own and sitting up in the nosebleed section by myself and just enjoying the show. I didn’t have to worry about anyone else – I didn’t have to reign in my feels for boy bands. It was just me and the music. And I loved every minute of it.

The Darren Criss concert at Roseland Ballroom was also one of the greatest concert-going experiences I’ve had, but that boy deserves his own post. And so I’ll get that up soon. (Maybe even with some pictures…)

Have a good one

