So,

I’ve lived in New York City for an entire year and I’m really proud of myself.

This has definitely been a challenging year, having never really lived on my own before. (I don’t really count undergrad because even though I lived in a single for all four years, I still spent all my vacations and breaks at home with my parents and was definitely not self-sufficient. One could argue I’m still not entirely self-sufficient now, as my parents still pay for my phone… but still.) I moved in with two complete strangers and had no one to answer to but myself.

I don’t know what I thought my life would be like after living here for a year. I guess I thought I would have figured everything out by now – but that is obviously not the case.

I have learned a lot about myself, but I know I still have a ways to go in that department. I’m actually a lot stronger than I usually give myself credit for, though I have also found that the walls I have built up over the years aren’t as solid as I pretend them to be. Vulnerability is not always a bad thing, and I keep having to remind myself of that.

Though I have been here for a year, I very much am still trying to find my place. I’m working really hard toward earning a career in something that means something. It’d be nice to earn a paycheck doing something I love.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on getting better at something I have grown to love – writing. This hasn’t earned me much money by any means, but it’s something I really enjoy doing. (This is actually hilarious on multiple levels because I HATED writing when I was younger because people told me I wrote poorly. But I worked at it and got a short script produced in college and have been freelance writing since 2007.)

I’m in the middle of writing two screenplays and started writing a book. Some friends know that I have worked on some side writing projects… stuff I post anonymously on a few websites to see if people like what I have to say (well, write). In the past year, I’ve written four near novel-length entities (50k-62k words) and six short stories (ranging from 3k-11k words). As of this morning, they’ve gotten 74,370 hits/views. Those numbers aren’t quite as high as some of the other people writing similar-themed stories, but I’m pleased that anyone read what I wrote, let alone thousands of people! My writing has definitely improved and it’s encouraging for when I sit down and actually work on stuff that could maybe one day be published. (I’m trying to finish this script I’m working on, and then I will be focusing solely on my novel. I’m a few pages into Chapter 1, though I have a really great outline to work from.)

I’m proud that I have one year of NYC living under my belt. I really, really hope that the next year goes even better.

