I realize I have not posted on here since March. Apologies.

This won’t be a long post, but I just wanted to write something to say that I’m still here and it’s been an odd 6 months since I last checked in.

Since March, I have written several (a dozen?) more theater blogs for IN New York and have two more shows lined up over the next few weeks. I will link to all of those on here at some point, but if you’re super ambitious, go ahead and google IN NEW YORK and then type my name into the search bar on the website and all my stuff pops up. I’ve seen some pretty interesting things for them and look forward to all future assignments.

I’ve also seen a bunch of stuff on my own, of course! I saw Hamilton twice (once at the Public Theater and once on Broadway at the Richard Rodgers). Such a great show!! If you have the means, I highly recommend seeing it. There are no words to properly describe how amazing that show is. It should be mandatory viewing for any high school American History student. I seriously hope they air it on PBS or something some day because EVERYONE needs to see it. I definitely hope to see it a few more times. As it’ll run for years, I’m sure, I know I’ll have that opportunity. The OBC is amazing, though. I can’t wait for the soundtrack in a few days 🙂

What else… um, I attended the Tonys rehearsal again in June. That was fun! Nothing will ever top when I saw the rehearsal for when NPH hosted in 2013, but it still fantastic nonetheless. I am extremely lucky, I know. I then worked as a ticket taker at the Tonys Gala that night. Also super fun. I’m so grateful for these kinds of opportunities.

I’m also grateful I got to visit my family over the 4th of July! It sucks not seeing them more often, but 6 days in Indiana was a godsend. I really needed to see my family and getup of NYC for awhile. I did get into a huge fight with my sister, but I think in the long run it brought us closer together. I still don’t think she quite understands my anxiety or depression, but it’s all a work in progress.

Speaking of depression… man, that was a bumpy three months. Definitely the lowest I’ve ever felt in my whole entire life. I couldn’t write. There was a lot of tears and anger and withdrawing from social situations. I spent too much time in my head and that was not a good or safe place to be. But, a few weeks ago I started coming out of it. I’ve written a few pages of my second book since then. I talked to some friends and some kind strangers on the Internet. Sometimes it’s just so much easier telling your issues to someone who doesn’t know you because they don’t have preconceived notions of who you are or how you’re “supposed” to be.

As I’ve been coming out of my epic funk, I am actively trying to tell people how grateful I am for their positive impact on me. I’ve written some letters (hand-written or via the Internet) to people who have helped shaped aspects of my life over the years. I know how much it means to me when someone says Thank You, so I’m trying extra hard to do that for others. I guess it’s selfish of me, because I’m hoping to lift other people in the process, but it’s not like I am expecting anything from them in return.

So, yeah… progress on my 2nd book has been slow-going since I stopped writing for awhile. I’m still working on it, though, and I will see it through to the end. I want to know where the story is going. And I have almost all of it mapped out in my head, it’s just a matter of typing it out.

I also decided that I’m going to adapt one or maybe both of the (unfinished) feature-length film scripts I wrote into books. I’m definitely going to move forward with the 24-hour road trip script/book and after re-reading the other script about a girl and a musician… well, with a lot of editing I think that could be salvageable too. But certainly the road trip story needs to be finished. I love what I have of the script, but know it’ll never actually make it as a movie. But it could definitely be a book. And I am so attached to the plot (since most of it actually happened to me… I just completely fudged it into a maybe-love story, as in real life there was absolutely no love story). I just am so in love with what I wrote and want to finish it because oh my god I am so in love with it. Some of my favorite things I’ve ever written are trapped in that script and they need to be shared with more than just my old laptop. I am smiling so hard as I’m typing this out… I am SO IN LOVE WITH THAT SCRIPT. And I cannot freaking wait to type out those words again in book-form. That was such a great day. It was awful… but it was so great. And I will never forget how magical it felt in those moments. OH MY GOD I CAN’T WAIT TO SHARE THAT STORY WITH EVERYONE.

So, yes… the past six months have been interesting. And I am so, so sorry I bailed on all of you. (I say “all of you” like people actually read this… ha)  But I’m back! (Kind of…)  And hopefully there will be more progress on writing in the coming weeks/months/year 🙂

Have a fantastic day!

